Girls on Tour series by Nicola Doherty

GIRLS ON TOUR is a series of 5 interlinked e-novellas about four friends who find fun, romance and adventure in glamorous locations. The adventures commenced in July with stop offs in September, December and February 2015. In April 2015 the whole series will be published in one volume in paperback and ebook.

IMG_0553.JPG

Poppy does Paris is the first in the series and is available now.
amazon link: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Poppy-Does-Paris-Girls-Tour-ebook/dp/B00HW2ELLS/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1411587114&sr=1-1&keywords=poppy+does+paris

Wow, I loved this little novella. It is fun, flirty and fabulous … great start to a mini series.

Poppy is a fun, character, she’s very original and has her own style but is quite shy underneath all this quirkiness. Poppy has been single for just over a year and decides the only way forward is online dating which is where we catch up with Poppy devising her online profile. She has some fabulously funny ideas for her profile but what does she decide with? An unexpected work trip to Paris causes a bit of chaos to Poppy’s love life but you’ll have to read the book to find out …

The second in the series Lily does LA is available tomorrow, 25th September.
amazon link: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Lily-Does-LA-Girls-Tour-ebook/dp/B00HW2EEK6/ref=pd_sim_kinc_1?ie=UTF8&refRID=10DYCS359F4N68EM9X0Z

I loved this second instalment of Nicola Doherty Girls on Tour series.

I love Lily, she is feisty, fun and sensitive at the same time. Lily is an out of work actress, she’s been struggling to find her big break and has filled her time by doing random jobs to pay the bills. When Lily is offered the chance to go to LA to help her cousin organise her wedding out there she jumps at the chance. What follows is a fun adventure in LA for Lily were she discovers a new found confidence, new friends, new allies, new love.

Nicola Doherty’s writing is fresh, funny, honest and thoroughly enjoyable. I’ve really enjoyed books 1 and 2 in the Girls on Tour series, I bet Nicola had great fun writing these novellas. The stories are stand alone but the girls are inter-linked. Nicola has done a fab map on her website which explains the connections between the girls.
http://nicoladohertybooks.com/girls-on-tour/

Book 3: Maggie does Meribel is available to pre-order ready for release on 4th December, amazon link: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Maggie-Does-Meribel-Girls-Tour-ebook/dp/B00HW2EK5U/ref=pd_sim_kinc_1?ie=UTF8&refRID=1WH4DJB25D32V33D4ENV

Book 4: Rachel does Rome is also available to pre-order for release on 5th February 2015, amazon link: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Rachel-Does-Rome-Girls-Tour-ebook/dp/B00HW2EK8C/ref=pd_sim_kinc_1?ie=UTF8&refRID=04FKSXRYZA17TJ5GCFM8

If you fancy a fun, frivolous, romantic read the Girls on Tour series is just perfect. Grab yourself a ticket and join the adventures of Poppy, Lily, Maggie and Rachel.

Cover reveal: Christmas Presence by Lisa J Hobman

So excited for the lovely author Lisa J Hobman, her Christmas novella, Christmas Presence is now available to pre-order on amazon. The novella is due to be released on 6th November 2014.

Goodreads link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23248662-christmas-presence
Amazon UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00NMY1ACS
Amazon dot com: http://amzn.com/B00NMY1ACS

IMG_0490.JPG

Blurb: Mallory got her happily ever after, but haunting loss in the past has her running scared that she will lose her beloved yet again. Can anything…or anyone make her realise she needs to let go of the past and live for today?

I’m looking forward to this novella, I loved Mallory’s story from Bridge over the Atlantic and the companion book Bridge of Hope. When I got to the end of both of these books I felt sad that I’d finished reading about Mallory, she had become like a friend to me so this novella is much needed fuel for my craving to know what follows for Mallory and Greg. I feel that the best thing an author can do is make you fall in love with the book characters and Lisa did just this in the above two novels.

Check out Lisa’s author page on Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/LisaJHobmanAuthor?ref=ts&fref=ts); amazon uk (http://www.amazon.co.uk/Lisa-J-Hobman/e/B00C27D7KY/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_2?qid=1411153168&sr=1-2); goodreads (https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7025491.Lisa_J_Hobman)

The Best of Me by Nicholas Sparks book review

9780751553338

The Best of Me was originally written in 2011 but it has been reprinted with a lovely new cover to coincide with the upcoming movie release. You can view a trailer of the movie here:

 

Book and Product Description (as detailed on amazon)

The new epic love story by the bestselling author of The Last Song and The Notebook

The bestselling love story behind the massive Hollywood film starring James Marsden and Michelle Monaghan.

They were teenage sweethearts from opposite sides of the tracks – with a passion that would change their lives for ever. But life would force them apart.

Years later, the lines they had drawn between past and present are about to slip . . . Called back to their hometown for the funeral of the mentor who once gave them shelter when they needed it most, they are faced with each other once again, and forced to confront the paths they chose. Can true love ever rewrite the past?

This is the new epic love story from the multi-million-copy bestselling author of The Notebook, The Lucky One and The Last Song. Nicholas Sparks is one of the world’s most beloved authors.

 
About the Author
With over eighty million copies of his books sold, Nicholas Sparks is one of the world’s most beloved storytellers. His novels include eleven No. 1 New York Times bestsellers. All Nicholas Sparks’ books have been international bestsellers and have been translated into more than forty languages. Eight of his novels have been adapted into major films: Safe Haven, The Lucky One, The Last Song, Dear John, Nights in Rodanthe, Message in a Bottle, A Walk to Remember and The Notebook. Nicholas Sparks lives in North Carolina with his wife and family. You can visit him and sign up for the Nicholas Sparks eNewsletter at http://www.uk.nicholassparks.com, and follow him on Twitter: @NicholasSparks.
 

I found this story a little slow to start but was glad I stuck with it. It had the usual Nicholas Sparks complicated love story. This one spanned over 20 years.  Childhood sweethearts Dawson and Amanda have not seen each other for over 20 years as they both went their separate ways after high school. Amanda has seemingly moved on and is married with children. Dawson’s life has had to endure events which made his life take a different course altogether however, these events and the love he had for Amanda back in high school has made it difficult for Dawson to move on.

 
A dear close friend from their high school days has sadly passed  away and Dawson and Amanda are brought back together. How will they cope with long time forgotten feelings they once had for each other?
 
What follows is a beautiful tale of friendship and love. Drama also gets thrown at them and it becomes quite gripping at times which left me sobbing and screaming ‘no’!
 
I am looking forward to the release of the movie. You need to read the book first to get the emotional intensity that Nicholas portrayed in the novel. The movie is due to be released in the UK on 15th October 2014 so plenty of time to catch up with the book 🙂
 
A great 4/5 read.
 
The book can be downloaded and purchased at all good bookstores including amazon:
 
 

Age of Iron by Angus Watson Book review Blog Tour

age of irons updated blog tour posterage of iron book picAge of Iron by Angus Watson (Orbit) is now available as a paperback and eBook.

Amazon synopsis:

Book Description

Bloodthirsty druids and battle-hardened Iron Age warriors collide in the first volume of this action-packed historical fantasy trilogy which will appeal to fans of Joe Abercrombie and HBO’s Game of Thrones.

 

Product Description

LEGENDS AREN’T BORN. THEY’RE FORGED.

Dug Sealskinner is a down-on-his-luck mercenary travelling south to join up with King Zadar’s army. But he keeps rescuing the wrong people.

First, Spring, a child he finds scavenging on the battlefield, and then Lowa, one of Zadar’s most fearsome warriors, who’s vowed revenge on the king for her sister’s execution.

Now Dug’s on the wrong side of that thousands-strong army he hoped to join ­- and worse, Zadar has bloodthirsty druid magic on his side. All Dug has is his war hammer, one rescued child and one unpredictable, highly-trained warrior with a lust for revenge that’s going to get them all killed . . .

It’s a glorious day to die.

About the Author

Angus Watson is an author and journalist living in London. He’s written hundreds of features for many newspapers including the Times, Financial Times and the Telegraph, and the latter even sent him to look for Bigfoot. As a fan of both historical fiction and epic fantasy, Angus came up with the idea of writing a fantasy set in the Iron Age when exploring British hillforts for the Telegraph, and developed the story while walking Britain’s ancient paths for further articles. You can find him on twitter at @GusWatson or find his website at: http://www.guswatson.com

I have to admit Age of Iron isn’t a book I would normally read so I asked a family member to read the book and review it for me and they were very keen to get ‘stuck in’.
 
For a start I’d never heard of Angus Watson but reading the synopsis I was intrigued enough to start reading the book. What a great novel, the characters were easy to picture and understand due to a well written tale. I picked the story up quickly and became engrossed in the characters, the scenario, the setting and I struggled to put it down.
 
It had everything I wanted in a book; action, deceit, betrayal, villains and hero’s. It was blood thirsty, it was intense. I lost myself and became a witness to events in a fictional, fantasy dark ages epic. If you like Simon Scarrow you will love this book. This book looks like the start of a new blockbuster, I can’t wait for the next one to be released. ‘Bring it on’ …
 
Age of Iron is available on ebook and paperbook at all good book retailers including amazon: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Age-Iron-Angus-Watson-ebook/dp/product-description/B00IA2E6DM/ref=dp_proddesc_0?ie=UTF8&n=341677031&s=digital-text