Age of Iron by Angus Watson Book review Blog Tour

age of irons updated blog tour posterage of iron book picAge of Iron by Angus Watson (Orbit) is now available as a paperback and eBook.

Amazon synopsis:

Book Description

Bloodthirsty druids and battle-hardened Iron Age warriors collide in the first volume of this action-packed historical fantasy trilogy which will appeal to fans of Joe Abercrombie and HBO’s Game of Thrones.

 

Product Description

LEGENDS AREN’T BORN. THEY’RE FORGED.

Dug Sealskinner is a down-on-his-luck mercenary travelling south to join up with King Zadar’s army. But he keeps rescuing the wrong people.

First, Spring, a child he finds scavenging on the battlefield, and then Lowa, one of Zadar’s most fearsome warriors, who’s vowed revenge on the king for her sister’s execution.

Now Dug’s on the wrong side of that thousands-strong army he hoped to join ­- and worse, Zadar has bloodthirsty druid magic on his side. All Dug has is his war hammer, one rescued child and one unpredictable, highly-trained warrior with a lust for revenge that’s going to get them all killed . . .

It’s a glorious day to die.

About the Author

Angus Watson is an author and journalist living in London. He’s written hundreds of features for many newspapers including the Times, Financial Times and the Telegraph, and the latter even sent him to look for Bigfoot. As a fan of both historical fiction and epic fantasy, Angus came up with the idea of writing a fantasy set in the Iron Age when exploring British hillforts for the Telegraph, and developed the story while walking Britain’s ancient paths for further articles. You can find him on twitter at @GusWatson or find his website at: http://www.guswatson.com

I have to admit Age of Iron isn’t a book I would normally read so I asked a family member to read the book and review it for me and they were very keen to get ‘stuck in’.
 
For a start I’d never heard of Angus Watson but reading the synopsis I was intrigued enough to start reading the book. What a great novel, the characters were easy to picture and understand due to a well written tale. I picked the story up quickly and became engrossed in the characters, the scenario, the setting and I struggled to put it down.
 
It had everything I wanted in a book; action, deceit, betrayal, villains and hero’s. It was blood thirsty, it was intense. I lost myself and became a witness to events in a fictional, fantasy dark ages epic. If you like Simon Scarrow you will love this book. This book looks like the start of a new blockbuster, I can’t wait for the next one to be released. ‘Bring it on’ …
 
Age of Iron is available on ebook and paperbook at all good book retailers including amazon: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Age-Iron-Angus-Watson-ebook/dp/product-description/B00IA2E6DM/ref=dp_proddesc_0?ie=UTF8&n=341677031&s=digital-text
Advertisements

One thought on “Age of Iron by Angus Watson Book review Blog Tour

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s