What Happens at the Beach by TA Williams book review

what happens at the beach

What Happens at the Beach written by T A Williams, publisher Carina an imprint of HarperCollins UK is available NOW in ebook format.

To buy link:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/What-Happens-at-Beach-Williams-ebook/dp/B01DTM87XC/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1468223980&sr=8-1&keywords=what+happens+at+the+beach

Product Details (as per amazon page)

For the perfect summer romance…

It’s finally time for Natalie Dryden to decide what she really wants! After ditching her sparkling engagement ring, and her ghastly fiancé, she jets off for the sun-kissed shores of Southern France – the only place that has ever truly felt like home. For the first time ever, Natalie is determined to forget all about men and follow her dreams!

…head to the French coast!

Only, avoiding the male population isn’t quite so easy, especially when she meets smooth-talking Philippe and gorgeous fisherman, Remy! But then Natalie, quite literally, bumps into brooding millionaire Mark whilst swimming in the glittering azure-blue bay – and her life is turned upside-down.

Love might be off the cards for Natalie, yet suddenly she finds herself in her dream job and working with her dream man! But is it all too good to be true…?

 

black lab

I’d like to thank netgalley and #KEPRTours for an arc and to be involved in the #ReleaseDayBlitz for this novel.  What better to help promote this gorgeous summer read than a review of the novel …

This is TA Williams 5th novel in the What Happens series. Each book is a standalone but each one and a further other contemporary romance novel TA Williams has written features a wonderful furry friend character.  They say a man’s best friend is his dog but in TA Williams novels it appears the dog has a liking for the female leads.

This story is set around Natalie, a recent graduate in Medieval History.  Following the very recent split from her fiancé David, Natalie escapes his over bearing mother and travels to the south of France to stay with her elderly grandmother.  Her grandmother, Collette, is 90 but is still quite young at heart in her mind.  She lives in a gorgeous house close to the beach.  The house has been in the family for years and Natalie has enjoyed many summers spending time with her gran at the beach.

Natalie is enjoying this time relaxing with her gran, visiting the beach, swimming in the glorious clear turquoise blue sea.  She’s managed to gain a part-time job helping out old friends at the local restaurant and manages to catch the eye of a millionaire yachtsman and the local fisherman.  However, Natalie is not interested in love so soon after her break-up with David until she meets the owner of the chateau next door to her gran’s.  Mark Markeson sparks an interest in Natalie, not only is he her gran’s neighbour but he is also the master of the adorable black Labrador that visits Natalie’s gran daily.  The black Labrador is such a wonderful addition to this story, he sparks a warmth to the storyline and I also do believe animals can help bring people together.  I believe this is very clever of TA Williams acknowledging the charm of animals and bringing it to life in his stories.  Without revealing too much about the storyline Mark Markeson has a secret job and aspiring dream and when it’s revealed it helps bring Natalie and Mark closer together strictly in a professional manner (much to her gran’s dismay).  Can the hurt from both Natalie and Mark’s past be healed?

I loved how this story led us into the history of the area.  I could tell the author knew about the area and I was fascinated hearing about this and it has sparked my interest in finding out more.  This is my first read of TA Williams, although I do have a few of his other books patiently waiting for me on my kindle.  I love his writing style, his description of the location of his settings is very clear in this case I could picture the beach and the sea and I had fallen for this wonderful chateau that Mark lived in.  The whole area sounded so idyllic.  I loved all the characters, the main characters were easily recognisable and soon well liked and the array of sub-characters fitted in well with the storyline.  I could easily imagine further stories being told about some of the sub-characters.  The story had much warmth, humour, it was quite touching and emotive at times.  A thoroughly delightful story that will encourage me to read all the other What Happens books.  4.5/5*

Carcossone

View of medieval city Carcassonne, image courtesy of google

About the Author

TAWilliamsFirstly, my name isn’t T A. It’s Trevor. I write under the androgynous name T A Williams because 65% of books are read by women. In my first book, “Dirty Minds” one of the (female) characters suggests the imbalance is due to the fact that men spend too much time getting drunk and watching football. I couldn’t possibly comment. Ask my wife…
I’ve written all sorts: thrillers, historical novels, short stories and now I’m enjoying myself hugely writing humour and romance. Romantic comedies are what we all need from time to time. Life isn’t always very fair. It isn’t always a lot of fun, but when it is, we need to embrace it. If my books can put a smile on your face and maybe give your heartstrings a tug, then I know I’ve done my job.
I‘ve lived all over Europe, but now I live in a little village in sleepy Devon, tucked away in southwest England. I love the place. That’s why you’ll find leafy lanes and thatched cottages in most of my books. Oh, yes, and a black Labrador.
I’ve been writing since I was 14 and that is half a century ago. However, underneath this bald, wrinkly exterior, there beats the heart of a youngster. My wife is convinced I will never grow up. I hope she’s right.
To find out more about T A Williams books please visit the following links:

https://tawilliamsbooks.com/

 

 

5 thoughts on “What Happens at the Beach by TA Williams book review

  1. Pingback: What Happens at the Beach blogtour author guest post with TA Williams | kraftireader

Leave a Reply

