What Happens at the Beach blogtour author guest post with TA Williams

TAWilliams-Beach-BTBanner

I’m so pleased to be involved in the blogtour promoting What Happens at the Beach written by T.A. Williams.  It’s been a few weeks now since the publication of this delightful novel.  To purchase the novel please click on the following link:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/What-Happens-at-Beach-Williams-ebook/dp/B01DTM87XC/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1469274744&sr=1-1&keywords=what+happens+at+the+beach

Link back to my review of: What Happens at the Beach by TA Williams book review

I’d like to welcome T.A. Williams to my blog today:

Hi Adele

Thanks again for your lovely review of What Happens at the Beach. And thanks for helping out on this blog tour. Here are my answers to your questions.

Best wishes
Trevor

 

Q:  I really enjoyed What Happens at the Beach … what inspired you to start this What Happens series?

A:  The first one was just called “Tuscany” while I was writing it.  It was only once it was finished and I was discussing with my editor at Carina UK what title to give it when the idea struck me.  I was already planning another book to be set in Cornwall so that’s how the idea of a series of standalones in different places came about.

Q:  I love how you feature a black labrador in your stories and understand you have a dog of your own, does your dog get involved with your story planning and writing?
A:  Alas, my faithful old black lab went to that great kennel in the sky a few years ago. He was 13 and he was an abused child – we got him as a rescue dog and the vet told us he’d be lucky to live to four or five. He made it to 13. He died while I was on a long bike ride all the way from here to Santiago de Compostela in northwest Spain and my wife was heartbroken, she vowed never to get another dog. So, that’s why I get my gratuitous canine fix from sticking one in all my books. Although, spoiler alert, there isn’t a lab in my next book. I’ll be waiting for the comments from my readers… 

Q:  What are you working on at the moment?
A:  I’m just editing my next book, recently finished. This one is set in London and Venice and the title will probably be something different from “What Happens in..” but I’m not sure what yet.

Q:  If you had to pick your favourite ‘What Happens’ book which one would it be?
A:  I’m a total tart, really. I always like my most recent book more than any of the others. That said, I really love What Happens in Tuscany because we lived for four happy years in that old Tuscan villa and I loved it.

Q:  You’ve written in quite a lot of genres, is there a genre you fancy exploring?
A:  I love history. In fact, as you can see from What Happens at the Beach… I am fascinated by the Cathars of Southern France. I think I might try my hand at historical fiction again one of these days. 

I look forward to a historical novel from yourself 🙂

Q:  Which genre of books do you enjoy reading and have you had a favourite read this year?
A:  I actually read a lot of non-fiction. I’m hooked on the Middle Ages and the Renaissance and this year I read a fascinating historical novel called just “Q”, written by a secretive group of academics spread around Europe. Fascinating.

Q:  How long have you been writing and what drove you to put pen to paper?
A:  Believe it or not, I’ve been writing since I was 14. That’s over fifty years! I still have all 44 handwritten pages (in pencil) of “The Lake Dwellers”, a shameless ripoff of Arthur Ransome’s “Swallows and Amazons”. As to the question of what drove me to it, I really don’t know. Now, (and I’m sure my wife would agree), it’s a drug. If I don’t get my regular daily writing fix, I feel I’m missing out. 🙂

Thank you so much Trevor for joining me today, it’s been an honour to have been chatting with you.

To find out more about T. A. Williams and his books please visit the following links:
dog paw print trail clipart
Leave a Reply

