The Bridesmaid Blues by Tracey Sinclair book review

bridesmaid blues

The Bridesmaid Blues written and self-published by Tracey Sinclair.  The Bridesmaid Blues is available in ebook and paperback format and is also included in the kindleunlimited scheme.

To buy link:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Bridesmaid-Blues-Tracey-Sinclair-ebook/dp/B00M83Y3VO/ref=tmm_kin_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=1472648633&sr=8-1

Product Details (as per amazon page)

Luce knows she should be thrilled when Jenna asks her to be bridesmaid – after all, they’ve known each other since childhood and Jenna is the best friend any girl could have. But it’s hard to get excited about weddings when you’re terminally single and the best man is the boy who broke your heart: Jamie, the groom’s dashing and irresistible brother. How can she face the man who dumped her when she’s still so hopelessly in love? Then again, maybe this is the perfect opportunity – after all, where better to get back together than at a wedding?

So Luce has six months to figure out how to win back her ex, but she has plenty else on her plate – from an old friend returned to Newcastle with an announcement of her own, to a youthful colleague who may or may not have a crush on her and a mother who is acting very strangely indeed… and that’s all before a mysterious, handsome American walks into her life.

Sometimes being a bridesmaid isn’t all confetti and champagne…

thistle buttonhole

I’d like to thank the author, Tracey Sinclair, for an arc in return for a review.

This is the first book I’ve read by Tracey Sinclair and I absolutely adored it.  A perfect read for fans of Bridget Jones and Lindsey Kelk.  A smart, sassy, funny romcom with lots of northern charm.  From the first chapter that had me laughing through the words to the very end of the book I was hooked by Luce’s plight of Bridesmaid Blues and boyfriend woes.

Tracey Sinclair’s northern wit and humour shone throughout the story.  Tracey has created instantly likeable characters especially Luce, an ordinary girl with her woes of always being the bridesmaid, being left on the shelf, her low self-esteem. I loved how we saw Luce’s character growing as she left the hustle and bustle of London to move back to her native Newcastle.  You could almost feel her body and mind relaxing telling her she is more at home in Newcastle.  There is another character later on in the story that has an almost similar reaction, which is quite humbling in a way.  They both left the area to pursue their dreams but in reality your dreams can be achieved wherever you are.

This was such a fun filled, warm hearted read.  I fell in love with Luce’s character, her hapless personality and her great friends in Dennis and Justin gave some fabulous comedic scenes.  The men in Luce’s life each had their own individual charm and personality leaving you falling a little for each one … great book boyfriend material!

I hope Tracey writes some more romcoms as I thoroughly enjoyed this story.  For me the only fault was I wanted more … loved it!  5/5*

About the Author (from her author page on http://www.darkdates.org)

Tracey Sinclair works as freelance copywriter, editor and legal directories consultant.  A diverse and slightly wandering career has included writing factsheets for small businesses, creating web content for law firms, subtitling film and TV and editing one of the UK’s largest legal directories. She regularly writes for online and print publications, including Better Business, Exeunt and The Stage.

Her work has been published in a number of magazines and anthologies and her short play Bystanders was premiered in 2011 as part of the CP Players New Writing Season at Baron’s Court Theatre, London, and in 2015 was performed at the Tristan Bates and White Bear theatres. Dark Dates: An Audience with Cassandra Bick, which she co-wrote with Zoe Cunningham and Peta Lily, was performed by Zoe in the Brighton Fringe and at the Tristan Bates. She has published two small press books (Doll and No Love is This, both Kennedy & Boyd), a romance (The Bridesmaid Blues) and continues to write the well-received Cassandra Bick/Dark Dates series. She lives in Brighton.

To find out more about Tracey Sinclair’s books please do visit her pages:

Website:  http://www.darkdates.org/

Twitter:  http://www.twitter.com/Thriftygal

Facebook:  http://www.facebook.com/darkdates

Advertisements

5 thoughts on “The Bridesmaid Blues by Tracey Sinclair book review

  1. Pingback: Some love for Bridesmaid Blues and a load of guest posts! | Dark Dates

  2. Pingback: 2016 – a year of new friends and great reviews | Dark Dates

  3. Pingback: Bridesmaid Blues on sale! | Dark Dates

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s