Heath, Cliffs & Wandering Hearts by Laura Barnard book review and Author Q & A

heath-cliffs-and-wandering-hearts

Heath, Cliffs & Wandering Hearts written and self-published by Laura Barnard is available NOW in ebook and paperback format.

To buy link:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Heath-Cliffs-Wandering-Hearts-Barnard-ebook/dp/B01M9BUCYW/ref=tmm_kin_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=1477507470&sr=1-1

Product Details (as per amazon page)

Life for sixteen year old Savannah Franks has just been turned upside down. Her Mum’s business has failed and they’re forced to move into a maisonette in the rough end of town.

She doesn’t want anyone to know her dire situation, not even her besties. So when the rest of the money for the school ski trip is due she can’t be seen not to attend. Everyone is going! She just needs to find a job. Add that to the list of getting a boyfriend and losing her pathetic virginity.

But working every spare hour in a job she hates on top of school work and mounting secrets doesn’t prove easy. Soon she’s keeping so many she’s not even sure herself what’s true and what’s not.

The only person she can lean on to tell the truth is her best friend Heath.

Only…did he get hot recently? That won’t make things awkward between them…right?

autumn-laura-barnard-image

I really enjoyed this YA romantic comedy from Laura Barnard.  I am so pleased to be involved in the blogtour promoting and celebrating the launch of this new book from Laura.

Heath, Cliffs and Wandering Hearts is the first novel written by Laura Barnard that I’ve read and can honestly say she’s like a breath of fresh air.  This story was like a Bridget Jones for young adults.  Savannah is still at school studying for her A levels, she is cute and clumsy and doesn’t have any experience with boys.  She has plenty of boys as friends including a long standing friendship with Heath who she’s been friends with since they were tiny.  Savannah is also close to her brother, Dylan, who happens to be away travelling around Australia at the moment.

We follow Savannah and her fellow sixth-formers going through the ups n downs of fledgling romances; the nice bits, the sexy moments and the scary side to an adult relationship.  During all this time Dylan, Savannah’s brother, shares his travel blog with us and it’s quite comical.  I loved these interludes with Dylan spouting on about his adventures in Australia.  Laura Barnard has created such a cheeky chap in Dylan, he was laid back and quite forthright with his travelogue.  I also loved Savannah’s Nan, her vibrant character was full of fun and spirit and there are some great comedy scenes when Savannah’s family all get together!

This was a fun, crazy adventure of a read experiencing life and the first tastes of young love.  4/5*

I’d like to welcome Laura Barnard to my blog …

Hi Laura, welcome to my blog and thanks for writing such great characters in your latest novel.

1. How long have you been writing and what inspired you to write?

I’ve been writing for about six years, but I only pressed publish three years ago.  I’ve always loved telling stories and it was when I was trying to get pregnant that I started a creative writing course.  I got to meet so many other like minded people that inspired me to push on.

2. I love this title of your new novel, how do you come up with the title?

Well I’ve always loved the boy name Heath.  It was a potential baby name that my husband said no to!  I knew that people would make a joke about Heath being like Heathcliff and so thought why not do a play on Heathcliff and Wuthering Heights?  It makes for a funny title so people know what they’re buying is silly and fun.

3. Do you have a work in progress?  Any clues?

I started writing a Christmas short story, but it may actually now be turning into a novella for next year as there’s a lot more juice to the story than I first thought.  Then I’m working on Cock & Bull to be released some time next year.  It tells the tale of two sisters who inherit a pub in Ireland.

4. Where would be your ideal writing location?

On a beach in the shade with a cocktail waiting for me.

5. When you find time to relax which genre of novel do you like to read?

I love reading all genres apart from horror.  Whatever I read always focuses around romance.  Depending on what mood I’m in I’ll go for chick lit or something really dark and sexy.   

Many thanks Laura 🙂

To find out more about Laura Barnard and her books please visit the following pages:

Website:  http://www.laurabarnardbooks.co.uk/books

Twitter:  http://www.twitter.com/BarnardLaura

Facebook:  http://www.facebook.com/laurabarnardbooks

2 thoughts on “Heath, Cliffs & Wandering Hearts by Laura Barnard book review and Author Q & A

Leave a Reply

