The Bear and The Nightingale by Katherine Arden book review

the-bear-and-the-nightingale

The Bear and The Nightingale written by Katherine Arden, publisher Ebury Digital and Del Rey, is available in ebook, hardcover and audio download format from 12th January 2017.

To pre-order/buy link:

Product Details (as per amazon page)

‘Frost-demons have no interest in mortal girls wed to mortal men. In the stories, they only come for the wild maiden.’

In a village at the edge of the wilderness of northern Russia, where the winds blow cold and the snow falls many months of the year, an elderly servant tells stories of sorcery, folklore and the Winter King to the children of the family, tales of old magic frowned upon by the church.

But for the young, wild Vasya these are far more than just stories. She alone can see the house spirits that guard her home, and sense the growing forces of dark magic in the woods…

IMG_1234

It’s a long, long time since I’ve read a fairytale but when I saw this book and read the synopsis I felt intrigued and wanted to learn more.

The Bear and The Nightingale is a grown up version of a fairytale set in Russia dealing with loss, grief, family struggles, forbidden love with a wonderful mystery of mythology and unknown magical creatures.

I have to admit it did take me a little while to get into the story but once I reminded myself of the particular genre I was reading my mindset saw the words differently.  Once I got my head into the characters and the raw struggle of survival in a very cold Russian countryside I was spellbound.  The magical creatures, that only few can see, fascinated me and I was eager for more.  I felt like the creatures were there for moralistic reasons and were the villager’s guardians.  The dark scenes were dramatic and traumatic and I couldn’t tear my eyes away from the pages.  I could almost picture the scenes played out in a big blockbuster movie!  There is a forbidden love that someone is fighting desperately with their conscious and with a higher power.  I adored this novel, its good to step out of your comfort zone and read something a little out of the ordinary.  This book and it’s story would look impressive with a big movie budget bringing all the characters and creatures to life, a blockbuster in the making.  5/5*

To find out more about Katherine Arden and her work please visit the following pages:

Website:  http://www.katherinearden.com/

Twitter:  http://www.twitter.com/arden_Katherine

Facebook:  http://www.facebook.com/katherineardenauthor

One thought on “The Bear and The Nightingale by Katherine Arden book review

Leave a Reply

