The Woolly Hat Knitting Club by Poppy Dolan blogtour book review

the woolly hat knitting club

The Woolly Hat Knitting Club written by Poppy Dolan, publisher Canelo, is available NOW in ebook format.

To buy links:

amazon UK – http://amzn.to/2ypDJ46

kobo – http://bit.ly/2xtfMw7

The book is also available to download on Apple iBooks and Google Books.

Product Details (as per amazon page)

Finding happiness one stitch at a time

When Dee Blackthorn’s brother, JP, breaks both wrists not only is he in need of a helping hand – or two – but the knitting shop he owns can’t function. Sisterly duties take Dee away from her demanding job and she is unceremoniously fired amidst rumours of inappropriate behaviour. Dee is certain that her hot-shot nemesis, Ben, is behind it all but has no proof.

When Dee bumps into an old friend who is new mum to a premature baby she convinces JP to enlist his knitting pals to make lots of tiny woolly hats. Then Ben turns up denying involvement in Dee’s sacking and she ropes him into helping the knitting cause.
But before long Dee’s good intentions backfire and she risks losing her friends, her family and Ben, who’s turned out to be not so bad after all…

A feel-good romantic comedy about learning what life is really all about, The Woolly Hat Knitting Club is perfect for fans of Cathy Bramley, Tilly Tennant and Carole Matthews.

 

The Woolly Hat Blog Tour Banner (4)

I am so pleased to be involved in the blogtour celebrating and promoting the launch of Poppy Dolan’s latest novel, The Woolly Hat Knitting Club.  The Woolly Hat Knitting Club is Poppy Dolan’s fourth novel.

What a fabulous knit-tastic story and was a joy to read. Poppy Dolan has created the most delightful, charming, romcom that has left me with a wonderful warm cosy feeling. I want to wrap myself up in a rainbow coloured knitted blanket and read it all over again with a cuppa. This is my first introduction to the works of Poppy Dolan and I have absolutely no idea why it’s taken me so long to read her work, such a gem of a writer.

Delilah (Dee) is a workaholic she thrives on the buzz surrounded by her very busy scheduling and fits in with the city life of London. However, when her younger brother, JP, sends a cry for help she has no hesitation of rushing to his needs. I loved this about Dee, even though she was so focused with her work her family means everything to her especially her brother who had suffered with his health in the past. Dee finds JP with two plaster casts on his arms after breaking his wrists. As he’s totally immobilised Dee steps in and helps him run the knitting shop. However, during her call of family need Dee is unceremoniously fired from her prestige job. Dejected and totally mystified by this she returns back to the knitting shop pulling all her emotions into helping move JP’s knitting shop into the crafting stratosphere. One of the highlights to the knitting shop is the great blog that JP set up which has a fabulous topical catchy name. JP was one of a few male knitters and the crafting universe loved him. Following a chance encounter with one of Dee’s old school friends, Becky, who had recently given birth prematurely to a little boy, Dee quickly realised that JP and his friends could help out her little baby boy by knitting tiny little hats for him. Tiny little knitted parcels soon started flocking into the shop overwhelming Dee with the generosity of the crafters. What started off as a small act of kindness spirals into an inspirational challenge of making more hats to widen this wonderful gesture to help more premature babies in need.

We follow Dee, JP and the ever growing circle of friends bringing this challenge into fruition. Obstacles are a plenty but the knitters will not give up.

Dee also hopes to get her career back on the right footing but helping her brother and the premature babies brings a different perspective to her life. What was once the thrill of the chase of her working life doesn’t look quite as appealing anymore.

A gorgeous romcom that I simply didn’t want to end. I feel quite uplifted and invigorated and want to cosy up with wonderful colours and textures. The perfect book to read on a cold day which will soon envelope you in a cosy cuddle of warmth.

To learn more about Poppy Dolan and her books please visit the following pages:

Twitter:  http://www.twitter.com/PoppyDwriter

Facebook:  http://www.facebook.com/poppydolanbooks

woolly hats clipart

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s