Silent Night: A Christmas Story collection by Wendy Clarke book review

silent night

Silent Night is a Christmas short story collection written by Wendy Clarke, publisher Cobblestone Walk Publishing.  The book is available NOW in ebook and paperback format.  The ebook is also included in the kindleunlimited scheme.

To buy link:  http://amzn.to/2yemLKD

Product Details (as per amazon page)

‘Silent Night’ is a collection of thirteen Christmas stories by Wendy Clarke, a regular writer of fiction for national magazines.

All of these stories have previously been published in either ‘The People’s Friend’ or ‘Take a Break Fiction Feast’. If you like stories with emotional depth and a satisfying ending, then this collection is for you.

What Shirley Blair, Commissioning Fiction Editor for ‘The People’s Friend’, says about the author:

‘Wendy Clarke has become one of The People’s Friend’s most valued writers, offering our readers a range of themes and a level of emotional satisfaction that is rare in the short story format.’

winter reading nook clipart

I voluntarily reviewed an arc of this novel.  All opinions are my own and no content may be copied. However, authors and publishers may use elements of my reviews for quotes.

This is my second compilation of short stories I’ve read this month and I’m really starting to enjoy this form of book.  I find short stories are perfect ‘coffee table’ books, ideal for picking up during a tea break, lunch break or ‘me time’.  I’d much rather read an engaging short story than turn on daytime TV or the news.

Wendy Clarke’s Silent Night is a collection of festive short stories that she has previously had published in popular magazines.  I found I was fully immersed in each story, the characters grabbed me and the storylines evoked many emotions in me.  I felt nostalgia, poignancy, heartbreak, hope, inspiration, warmth … I was left feeling a sense of contentment and a little festive sparkle was starting to fizz inside of me.

This collection of short stories would be a wonderful gift for any book lover and would be an ideal stocking filler/after-dinner gift at Christmas.

Regular readers of my reviews will notice I like to put images on my blog reviews relating to the story, I couldn’t resist this wonderful, idyllic image of a winter reading nook that would be perfect for a Christmas Story Collection.

To learn more about Wendy Clarke and her work please visit the following pages:

Website:  http://wendyswritingnow.blogspot.co.uk/

Twitter:  http://www.twitter.com/WendyClarke99

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Silent Night: A Christmas Story collection by Wendy Clarke book review

Leave a Reply

