The Hopes and Dreams of Lucy Baker by Jenni Keer blogtour book review

 

the hopes and dreams final cover

The Hopes and Dreams of Lucy Baker written by Jenni Keer, publisher Avon, is available NOW in ebook.  The paperback format is due to be released in March and is available to pre-order.

To pre-order/buy link: https://amzn.to/2RDItRe

Product Details

Meet Lucy, aged 25, and Brenda, aged 79. Neighbours and unlikely friends.
Lucy Baker is not your usual 25-year-old. She is more at home reading and knitting in her cluttered little flat than going out partying and socialising.
79-year-old Brenda is full of wise and wonderful advice, but when she’s diagnosed with dementia her life begins to change. Before her memories slip away for ever, Brenda is desperate to fulfil one last wish – to see Lucy happy.
Gifting Lucy the locket that helped Brenda find her own true love, she hopes to push her reticent neighbour in the right direction. But is Lucy Baker ready for the opportunities and heartbreaks of the real world? It’s about time she put her knitting needles aside and found out…
The Hopes and Dreams of Lucy Baker will be the most charming, heart-warming and feel-good novel you will read this year, perfect for fans of Ruth Hogan and Gail Honeyman.

the hopes and dreams of lucy baker full tour banner

I voluntarily reviewed an arc of this book. All opinions are my own and no content may be copied. However, authors and publishers may use elements of my reviews for quotes.

I am so pleased to be involved in the blogtour celebrating and promoting the launch of Jenni Keer’s debut novel: The Hopes and Dreams of Lucy Baker.  I have to hold my hand up and admit that I was totally drawn to this novel by the cover, the black cat drew me in to all the prettiness.  I also love a story with characters from different ages as they bring a dynamic to the storyline with the wise of the mature generation and the effervescence of the younger.

This is a story about two socially awkward souls who are given a helping hand in love by a vivacious elderly neighbour and a scrappy looking black cat.  A neighbour who all her life has practised in the art of apothecary using natural ingredients and who also believes in mystical powers.

I loved the relationship that Lucy had with her elderly neighbour Brenda.  Brenda was a dream of a character, she had so much joy from her life and her history was fascinating.  I also enjoyed reading about the natural potions and spells she believed were the answer to friend’s and neighbour’s prayers and ailments.  Lucy was a quiet soul who felt under-shadowed by her elder sister, her mother was constantly belittling her.  Lucy stuck with her joys in life which were her friendship with Brenda, her knitting (especially the celebrity-like dolls) and her job working at the toy wholesalers.  When a new neighbour moves in who appears to be more socially awkward than Lucy, Brenda hatches out a plan to help Lucy and George become friends.

The Hopes and Dreams of Lucy Baker is an utterly charming story that will entrance and entertain you.  It was magical, romantic and full of fun.  I adored it and it left me thoughtful, bewitched and a little emotional.  I am so looking forward to more from Jenni Keer.

About the Author

Jenni Keer is a history graduate who embarked on a career in contract flooring before settling in the middle of the Suffolk countryside with her antique furniture restorer husband. She has valiantly attempted to master the ancient art of housework but with four teenage boys in the house it remains a mystery. Instead, she spends her time at the keyboard writing women’s fiction to combat the testosterone-fuelled atmosphere with her number one fan #Blindcat by her side. Much younger in her head than she is on paper, she adores any excuse for fancy-dress and is part of a disco formation dance team.

Social Media Links –
FB Jenni Keer Writer
Twitter @JenniKeer
Instagram jennikeer
Website – https://jennikeer.co.uk/

the hopes and dreams giveaway prizeGiveaway to Win The Hopes and Dreams of Lucy Baker goodies (UK Only)
Prize contains – Thornton’s fudge, a Nu notebook, a Hopes and Dreams bookmark and a set of five “Scratbag” blank greetings cards designed by Jenni Keer
*Terms and Conditions –UK entries welcome. Please enter using the Rafflecopter box below. The winner will be selected at random via Rafflecopter from all valid entries and will be notified by Twitter and/or email. If no response is received within 7 days then I reserve the right to select an alternative winner. Open to all entrants aged 18 or over. Any personal data given as part of the competition entry is used for this purpose only and will not be shared with third parties, with the exception of the winners’ information. This will passed to the giveaway organiser and used only for fulfilment of the prize, after which time I will delete the data. I am not responsible for despatch or delivery of the prize.

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/33c69494176/

 

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “The Hopes and Dreams of Lucy Baker by Jenni Keer blogtour book review

  1. Great review, Adele. The Hopes and Dreams of Lucy Baker sounds a wonderful read. I laughed when I read Jenni Keer’s “About Me” paragraph when she writes: “She has valiantly attempted to master the ancient art of housework”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.