Knowing You by Samantha Tonge @SamTongeWriter #bookreview #PublicationDayBlitz @canelo_co @rararesources #KnowingYou

 

knowing you cover

Knowing You written by Samantha Tonge, publisher Canelo, is available NOW in ebook and paperback format.

To buy links:

Amazonhttps://amzn.to/2UyHvnk
Applehttps://geo.itunes.apple.com/gb/book/knowing-you/id1449854707?mt=11&uo=8&at=1000l5Q7
Googlehttps://play.google.com/store/books/details?id=aRiEDwAAQBAJ
Kobohttps://www.kobo.com/gb/en/ebook/knowing-you-6

Book Blurb

An abrupt change; a new friendship; a dark secret…

Kind-hearted Violet has never fitted in, but despite being bullied at school is now content. She is dating ambitious Lenny, has her dream job in publishing and runs a book club at the local retirement home.

However, when her relationship with Lenny begins to falter, Violet, hurt and alone, seeks the advice of her new flatmate, Bella. She changes her image and with her head held high aims to show that she doesn’t need Lenny in her life to be happy and successful.

Her long-term friends Mable and Farah worry about Bella’s influence and slowly Violet starts to distance herself from them. When she was a child, her closest confidant and companion was a boy called Flint. Her mother didn’t approve of their closeness and he suffered a terrible end. She won’t let the same thing happen to Bella, no matter what anyone says…

Knowing You is about friendship and knowing who to trust with your deepest secrets; it’s about taking control of your life and not being afraid to stand out. Perfect for fans of Ruth Hogan, Gail Honeyman and Amanda Prowse

Publication Blog Blitz Knowing You (1)

I voluntarily reviewed an arc of this book. All opinions are my own and no content may be copied. However, authors and publishers may use elements of my reviews for quotes.

I am so pleased to be involved in the Publication Day Blog Blitz for Samantha Tonge’s latest novel: Knowing You.

Knowing You is an exceptionally written story by Samantha Tonge.  The author has included a storyline dealing with many of life’s struggles; bullying, grief, heartbreak, self-doubt, self-esteem all told with honesty and sensitivity.  Samantha Tonge’s writing felt so warm and comforting one minute and the next you are emotionally drawn in to the heart and mind of a young girl having to deal with such a traumatic event at a tender age.  My heart ached for young Violet.

Knowing You is the story of Violet Vaughan who is now living her dream as an editor at an independent publishers in London.  She shares a flat with her boyfriend Lenny who is an aspiring book agent.  Life is looking up until Violet’s heart is left broken.  This heartbreak brings back memories of times that Violet wishes she could forget but these events in her past have shaped her life now.

The story travels back in time to 2001 to when Violet was 7 years old and she’d recently moved house and had started at a new school.  Violet hid so much of her life from her mother in fear of upsetting her any further but the trauma from this time that had evoked so many emotions in Violet would take a dramatic turn.  It’s not until the final chapters of the book that the author spins her tale a final time leaving you breathless.

Knowing You is a story that would resonate with many and I would highly recommend it to young adults at secondary school as I feel the story would give many young people hope and be life affirming.  I felt every emotional struggle and battle in young Violet and in the young adult she has become.  A storyline that feels very current with social media implying certain images causing anxiety and self-esteem issues in many but it’s a storyline that will never go out of fashion as the nature of people will always struggle with moments of self-doubt.

An exceptionally written story that is emotive, thought-provoking but filled with assurance and hope.  I believe it’s the author’s best story yet.

About the Author

Samantha Tonge lives in Manchester UK and her passion, second to spending time with her husband and children, is writing. She studied German and French at university and has worked abroad, including a stint at Disneyland Paris. She has travelled widely.
When not writing she passes her days cycling, baking and drinking coffee. Samantha has sold many dozens of short stories to women’s magazines.
In 2013, she landed a publishing deal for romantic comedy fiction with HQDigital at HarperCollins and in 2014, her bestselling debut novel, Doubting Abbey, was shortlisted for the Festival of Romantic Fiction best Ebook award. In 2015 her summer novel, Game of Scones, hit #5 in the UK Kindle chart and won the Love Stories Awards Best Romantic Ebook category.

Links
Twitter:   http://www.twitter.com/SamTongeWriter
Facebook:   https://www.facebook.com/SamanthaTongeAuthor
Website:   http://samanthatonge.co.uk/

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.