Victory for the East End Angels by Rosie Hendry @hendry_rosie @LittleBrownUK @littlebookcafe @rararesources #blogtour #bookreview #WWIIsaga #familysaga

 

Victory Cover

Victory for the East End Angels written by Rosie Hendry, publisher Sphere (an imprint of Little, Brown Books) is available NOW in ebook and paperback format.

To buy link: https://amzn.to/2YagK9T

Product Details

The war is almost over – and it’s up to the East End Angels to keep the home fires burning!

Frankie‘s fiance, a doctor, is away looking after the troops in Europe – will he return safely home?

Winnie has a happy secret – but can she carry on at Station 75 when she’s going to have a baby?

Bella is intrigued by her new friend, a Polish airman.

As the war ends and victory is in sight, what next for the girls of Station 75?

A gorgeously uplifting saga for fans of Ellie Dean and Donna Douglas

Victory For The East End Angels Full Tour Banner

I voluntarily reviewed an arc of this book. All opinions are my own and no content may be copied. However, authors and publishers may use elements of my reviews for quotes.

I am so pleased to be involved in the blogtour celebrating and promoting Rosie Hendry’s latest novel: Victory for the East End Angels.  This was my first introduction to the work of Rosie Henry.  Even though Victory for the East End Angels is Book Four in the series the author managed to captivate me with her characters and I was fascinated with how the social dynamics had changed in wartime with many women taking on the roles that were formerly destined for men.  Although the book can be read as a standalone, as I have proved, there were moments that I wished I knew the history more of the characters and storyline so I would whole-heartedly recommend reading all the books in the series in order to get the full enjoyment and overall reading experience.  The books in the series are:

  • East End Angels
  • Secrets of the East End Angels
  • Christmas with the East End Angels
  • Victory for the East End Angels

Winnie, Rose, Frankie and Bella are four friends that for the last few years have been working as ambulance crew for the London Auxiliary Ambulance Service – Station 75 in the heart of London.  During their time they have experienced many traumatic scenes first-hand but the valiant work that these brave men and women volunteers do has unfortunately been a necessity of war.

Victory for the East End Angels is a story of friendship and love.  It’s also a story of survival in a world of uncertainty.  There’s a real sense of camaraderie during wartime periods and you can appreciate and acknowledge that the ‘make do and mend’ and ‘keep calm and carry on’ attitudes helped tremendously and are a perspective in life that we need to remember and replicate.

Rosie Hendry has written a wonderful family saga set in WWII, there were some highs and lows of life during conflict and our hearts were battered with the separations of our loved ones but the warmth spread within the community helped those in need at the time.  I felt a gentleness with the authors writing but I was conscious of the authentic atmosphere of the times.  A lovely heart-warming, honest and tender read.

About the Author

Victory author photoRosie Hendry lives by the sea in Norfolk with her husband, two children, chickens and a snake. She’s worked in a variety of jobs from fruit picking, waitressing, teaching and as a research scientist but has always loving reading and writing. Starting off writing short stories for women’s magazines, her stories have gradually become longer as her children have grown bigger.

Listening to her father’s tales of life during the Second World War sparked Rosie’s interest in this period and she’s especially intrigued by how women’s lives changed during the war years. She loves researching further, searching out gems of real-life events which inspire her writing.

When she’s not working, Rosie enjoys walking along the beach, reading and is grateful for the fact that her husband is a much better cook than her.

Website: www.rosiehendry.com

Facebookhttps://www.facebook.com/RosieHendrybooks/

Twitter – www.twitter.com/hendry_rosie

 

 

2 thoughts on “Victory for the East End Angels by Rosie Hendry @hendry_rosie @LittleBrownUK @littlebookcafe @rararesources #blogtour #bookreview #WWIIsaga #familysaga

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.