A Shop Girl at Sea by Rachel Brimble @RachelBrimble @Aria_Fiction @rararesources #HistoricalFiction #blogtour #bookreview #Penningtons

a shop girl at sea

A Shop Girl at Sea written by Rachel Brimble, publisher Aria, is available NOW in ebook and paperback format.

Book Blurb

Bath, 1912.

Amelia Wakefield loves working at Pennington’s, Bath’s finest department store. An escape from her traumatic past, it saved her life. So when Miss Pennington sets her a task to set sail on the Titanic and study the department stores of New York, she couldn’t be more excited – or determined!

Frustrated with his life at home, Samuel Murphy longs for a few weeks of freedom and adventure. Meeting Amelia on board the Titanic, Samuel can’t help wonder what painful history has made the beauty so reserved. But he already has too many responsibilities for love.

Ruby Taylor has always kept her Pennington co-workers at a distance. Making sure her little brother is safe has always been her priority. But when that means accepting Victoria Lark’s offer of sanctuary, more than one of Ruby’s secrets is under threat of being revealed…

A riveting and uplifting saga, perfect for fans of Elaine Everest and Fiona Ford.

To buy link:

A Shop Girl At Sea

I voluntarily reviewed an arc of this book. All opinions are my own and no content may be copied. However, authors and publishers may use elements of my reviews for quotes

I am so pleased to be involved in the blogtour celebrating and promoting the launch of Rachel Brimble’s latest historical novel: A Shop Girl at Sea.

A Shop Girl at Sea is Book 4 in the Pennington’s series and although each book is focused on a different character I would highly recommend reading the books in order to gain the full reading experience and enjoyment.  The Pennington’s series is fast becoming one of my favourite historical fiction series.  The books in order are:

  • A Shop Girl in Bath (Previously published as The Mistress of Pennington’s)
  • A Shop Girl Gets the Vote (Previously published as A Rebel at Pennington’s)
  • A Shop Girl’s Christmas (Previously published as Christmas at Pennington’s)
  • A Shop Girl at Sea

To catch up with my reviews of all books please follow the link here to all the posts on my blog: https://kraftireader.wordpress.com/?s=Pennington

This instalment focuses on Amelia Wakefield who has been working at the prestigious department store in Bath for a little while.  Amelia has been given a new assignment with one of her colleagues; a chance to visit New York to analyse the large department stores and it’s customers in the city of dreams.  Amelia and Mr Weir will be travelling to New York on the maiden voyage of the Titanic ship.

The world of industry, commerce, tourism and the public alike are a buzz with this new ship that can carry thousands of people across the seas in a luxury that many can only dream about.

Including such a pivotal moment in the history of the world in a fictional story in a way leaves the reader with a little spoiler.  We all know the fate of this maiden voyage by such an iconic ship and as I was reading the story I was waiting for the moment but I was so engrossed in the storyline surrounding the characters I was as surprised as the passengers on the ship.  I felt the intensity of the situation and I was anxious for all on the ship.

This is a story of excitement and trepidation visiting new lands of opportunity that soon take a turn of tragic events.  It’s also a story of two young people trying to escape their pasts to start afresh.  Away from the drama at sea there’s anther story taking place back home in Bath when another young lady working at the store is battling with a darkness of her own.  Ruby has been hiding her home life struggles for a long time but it’s reached a point of no return but she is so afraid of the conflicting emotions in her head and heart.

A Shop Girl at Sea is another wonderful instalment in this historical romance series; it’s a story of love overcoming stigmas, finding the strength to grasp new hope and opportunities.

About the Author

Rachel lives with her husband and their two daughters in a small town near Bath, England. She is the author of over 20 published novels including the Pennington’s department store series (Aria Fiction) and the Templeton Cove Stories (Harlequin).

In July 2019, she signed a three-book deal with Aria Fiction for a Victorian trilogy set in a Bath brothel which will feature three heroines determined to change their lives and those of other women. The first book is due for release in Autumn 2020.

Rachel is a member of the Romantic Novelists Association and has thousands of social media followers all over the world.

To sign up for her newsletter (a guaranteed giveaway every month!), click here:
https://us12.list-manage.com/subscribe?u=ab0dc0484a3855f2bc769984f&id=bd3173973a

Social Media Links

Website: https://rachelbrimble.com/
Blog: http://rachelbrimble.blogspot.co.uk/
Twitter:  @RachelBrimble

Amazon Author Page: https://www.amazon.com/Rachel-Brimble/e/B007829ZRM/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1490948101&sr=8-1

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.