The Resistance Girl by Jina Bacarr @JinaBacarr @BoldwoodBooks @rararesources #blogtour #bookreview #WWIIfiction

The Resistance Girl written by Jina Bacarr, publisher Boldwood Books, is available NOW in ebook, kindleunlimited and paperback format.

Book Blurb

Two women. One heartbreaking secret.

Paris, 1943.

Sylvie Martone is the star of French cinema, and adored by fans. But as Nazi officers swarm the streets of Paris, she is spotted arm in arm with an SS Officer and her fellow Parisians begin to turn against her.

However Sylvie has a secret – one she must protect with her life.

Paris, 2020.

Juliana Chastain doesn’t know anything about her family history. While her mother was alive she remained very secretive about her past.

So when Juliana discovers a photograph of a glamorous French actress from World War Two amongst her mother’s possessions, she is in shock to find herself looking at her grandmother – especailly as she is arm in arm with a Nazi Officer…

Desperate for answers, Juliana is determined to trace the journey of her grandmother. Surely there is more to the photograph than meets the eye?

But as she delves into Sylvie’s past, nothing can prepare Juliane for the tales of secrets, betrayal and sacrifice which she will uncover.

A heart-wrenching story of love and war, perfect for fans of Pam Jenoff and Suzanne Goldring.

Purchase Link – https://buff.ly/3dHGHqQ

I voluntarily reviewed an arc of this book. All opinions are my own and no content may be copied. However, authors and publishers may use elements of my reviews for quotes

I am so pleased to be involved in the blogtour celebrating and promoting the launch of Jina Bacarr’s latest historcal novel: The Resistance Girl. I love books set in Paris and I am fascinated with the impact of both world wars on civilians so this book was a must read for me.

I found The Resistance Girl a captivating WWII time-slip novel that will entrance you with the glamour, the espionage, the romance and the danger. It will also leave you with food for thought of a time in history that no-one can ever appreciate or begin to understand unless you are living in it. This is when fiction is at it’s best bringing historical moments to life and giving the reader an atmospheric understanding of what the characters are experiencing.

This story is a tale of two halves focussing on two women who find themselves reaching a junction in their lives. The routes they take could change their lives irrevocably. Back in the late 1920’s young Sylvie, who has been brought up by nuns at the local convent in Paris, is obsessed with the silver screen and dreams of being an actress. Sylvie has to make a big decision to step away from the convent and set her dreams free but is this step leading her to danger in later life? The silver screens were just coming alive with speaking parts and exciting times were ahead in the world of cinema.

Over 75 years later Juliana is sorting out her late mother’s belongings and finds a photograph of a beautiful women. This photograph she believes is of her grandmother and it inspires Juliana to learn more about her. Who is the beautiful woman, what was her story?

The story flits back and forth as we follow both girls journeys in life; Sylvie’s journey to stardom and to survival as the war in Europe intensifies and Paris becomes occupied by soldiers. Sylvie’s celebrity status becomes a hindrance and a gain during these troubled times and she struggles with her beliefs. Juliana has a tough journey tracking down the life of this young woman in the photograph who held so many secrets. Her gut instincts are to fight for the truth surrounding Sylvie’s career and personal life.

A story that will keep you mesmerised till the very end. I find stories like Sylvie’s very remarkable and they should be told to all. Even though this is a work of fiction it is based on the wondrous stories that military historians are now unearthing. At times it is dark with the realities of war and it will break your heart many times but you can sense the hope in Sylvie for better days to come. It must have been thrilling for Juliana to reveal these secrets of her grandmother. Secrets that no-one could ever envisage.

A captivating story that I thoroughly enjoyed.

Author Bio –

Jina Bacarr is a US-based historical romance author of over 10 previous books. She has been a screenwriter, journalist and news reporter, but now writes full-time and lives in LA. Jina’s novels have been sold in 9 territories.

Social Media Links –

Newsletter: http://bit.ly/JinaBacarrNewsletter

Website: https://jinabacarr.wordpress.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/JinaBacarr.author

Twitter @ https://twitter.com/JinaBacarr

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/jinabacarr/

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/LadydeGrey/videos?view_as=subscriber

Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/jbacarr

Bookbub: https://www.bookbub.com/profile/jina-bacarr

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/50392.Jina_Bacarr

LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/jinabacarr/

https://bookandmainbites.com/JinaBacarr

2 thoughts on “The Resistance Girl by Jina Bacarr @JinaBacarr @BoldwoodBooks @rararesources #blogtour #bookreview #WWIIfiction

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.