The Return of Her Lost Knight (Notorious Knights Book 3) by Melissa Oliver @melissaoauthor @MillsandBoon #bookreview #HistoricalRomance #PublicationDay

The Return of Her Lost Knight written by Melissa Oliver, publisher Mills & Boon Historical, is available NOW in ebook and paperback format.

Book Blurb

Her second chance

With her lost love….

To avoid a forced marriage, Lady Gwenllian plans to escape to a convent. She couldn’t possibly honour another when her heart still belongs to Ralph de Kinnerton, the man she had to betray to save his life – only to hear of his death shortly after. So how is it possible he’s here at this Knight’s tournament? Now, the pull of their unfinished past forces Gwen to question the choice she’d made for her future…

To buy links:

The paperback is available from all good book retailers and can also be purchased online direct from Mills & Boon.

Notorious Knights – The Return Of Her Lost Knight (Mills & Boon Historical) (Notorious Knights, Book 3) – Mills & Boon UK (

The ebook is available to download for kindle, kobo, iBooks.


I voluntarily reviewed an arc of this book. All opinions are my own and no content may be copied. However, authors and publishers may use elements of my reviews for quotes.

It’s hard to believe that Melissa Oliver is a relatively new author with her first novel being published last summer. Melissa Oliver’s books are very readable, there’s a real sense of time and place and you can feel the atmosphere and tension between characters. The Return of Her Lost Knight is book 3 in the Notorious Knights trilogy, you can find my review for book one here: The Rebel Heiress and the Knight by Melissa Oliver @melissaoauthor @MillsandBoon @rararesources #HistoricalRomance #bookreview #blogtour | kraftireader ( and for book two here: Her Banished Knight’s Redemption by Melissa Oliver @melissaoauthor @MillsandBoon @rararesources @HarlequinBooks #HistoricalRomance #bookreview #blogtour | kraftireader (

Each book in the trilogy can be read as a standalone as each instalment focuses on a new character. However, characters from previous stories do crop up in later reads so you can see a progression in their lives. I would therefore, highly recommend reading the books in order to fully understand and appreciate the era, the setting, the characters and also the books are just gorgeous you just don’t want to miss out!

Book 3 is Ralph De Kinnerton and Lady Gwenllian’s story. Six years ago this young couple were full of dreams and hopes for the future but betrayals and danger from a family source split the pair apart until an important knights tournament was to bring them back together again. However, a lot can happen in six years, for one thing Ralph was presumed dead so his return to tournament was filled with much trepidation as Ralph felt he had a ‘score’ to prove to gain his place as the rightful heir to his late father’s land. But to succeed Ralph has to remain incognito but the sight of his once best friend and childhood sweetheart, Lady Gwenllian, sets his emotions in a tailspin and his plan to gain recognition of his ‘inheritance’ becomes clouded with thoughts of Gwen.

However, wherever Gwen was his notorious cousin, Stephen le Gros, was close behind and Ralph has to keep his temper in check and his presence a secret till the time was right.

Gwen and Ralph were once so close but Gwen had to make the brave decision 6 years ago to let Ralph go for his own safety. Not many people know the true reasons for Gwen letting Ralph go and it’s something that Gwen is still very guarded about. Believing Ralph was dead has been hard to bare so finding out he was alive has brought so many conflicting feelings to the forefront of Gwen’s mind. Gwen is also hiding torment from her past that has shaped the path for her future.

Can Ralph fulfil his destiny and can Gwen learn to let events from the past go?

Another gorgeous historical romance that was filled with drama, danger, tension but there is also a wonderful endearing camaraderie between the notorious knights. I really enjoy historical romance stories it’s a journey that has the reader travelling back in time experiencing life in an unknown era with cultures to learn and sights to discover.

About the Author

Melissa Oliver is from south-west London where she writes historical romance novels. She lives with her lovely husband and three daughters, who share her passion for decrepit, old castles, grand palaces and all things historical. She is the winner of The Romantic Novelists’ Association’s Joan Hessayon Award for new writers in 2020 for her debut, The Rebel Heiress and the Knight. When she’s not writing she loves to travel, paint and visit museums & art galleries.

Twitter: @melissaoauthor

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.