When Only Pride Remains by Natalie Kleinman @NatKleinman @rararesources

When Only Pride Remains written and self-published by Natalie Kleinman is available NOW in ebook, kindleunlimited and paperback format.

Book Blurb

A enchanting story of love, loss and healing set in Regency England! For fans of Georgette Heyer, Mary Balogh, Jane Aiken Hodge and Jane Austen.

Can two estranged friends find their way back to each other…?

Regency England

When her father —Major Angus Fairham — returns home from the Napoleonic wars, Prudence is excited to welcome him home to Fairham Manor.

However, tragedy strikes when Angus loses his estate to his close friend and comrade — young Captain Jack Staveley — in a drunken game of cards. Unable to face his loss, Angus takes his own life.

Distraught, Jack tries to restore Fairham Manor to Prudence, but she is too proud to accept his offer.

Overcome with grief and anger, she retreats to her aunt’s house in Bath and distances herself from her once close friendship with Jack.

But as the initial shock of her sorrow begins to dull, Prudence is soon missing the support of her most trusted confidant.

And when they once more find themselves in each other’s orbit, she must decide whether she can put aside her pride and open her heart…

WHEN ONLY PRIDE REMAINS is a historical romantic tale set in Regency England, with a feisty heroine and a moving love story at its heart.

Purchase Link  – https://amzn.to/3w0s60Y

I voluntarily reviewed an arc of this book. All opinions are my own and no content may be copied. However, authors and publishers may use elements of my reviews for quotes.

This was such a lovely Regency romance that I thoroughly enjoyed being swept away with. It was filled with charm, beauty and the kindness that fills you with warmth but it also didn’t ignore the honesty and rawness of life in conflict.

Prudence Fairham was never more happier than being at her beloved home in Fairham Manor even more so when her father, Major Angus Fairham, had returned home from the Napoleonic wars. She was use to being surrounded by her fathers peers with military talk and full revelry in full swing. However, her heart and dreams were truly left devastated when tragedy strikes leaving her mourning the loss of her father and without a home. She was also feeling bereft as her friendship with Captain Jack Staveley becomes very strained.

Prudence moves in with family and tries to move on but the arrival of a surprise visitor gives her a new outlook on life.

As time passes Captain Jack Staveley consumed with guilt vows to turn Fairham Manor into something of use and importance that he feels would have made the late Major proud. Jack also vows to mend his friendship with Prudence and hopes that his plans for the future will include her.

Author Natalie Kleinman instantly transports you into a more gentler, slower romantic story with society etiquette and military traditions ruling the way. I liked Prudence’s character and felt such empathy for her having lost everything she held dear. I was proud of Jack’s initiative and couldn’t have wished for anything better for the future of the Manor. I so wanted Prudence and Jack to acknowledge their feelings and reveal all to each other but back in Regency time feelings were very often held back. The story picked up a gear or two with drama leaving the reader concerned for the future for many.

A lovely story befitting of it’s era.

Author Bio

Natalie’s passion for reading became a compulsion to write when she attended a ten-week course in creative writing some sixteen or so years ago. She takes delight in creating short stories of which more than forty have been published, but it was her lifelong love of Regency romance that led her to turn from contemporary romantic fiction to try her hand at her favourite genre. Raised on a diet of Jane Austen and Georgette Heyer, she is never happier than when immersed in an age of etiquette and manners, fashion and intrigue, all combined into a romping good tale. She lives on the London/Kent border, close to the capital’s plethora of museums and galleries which she uses for research as well as pleasure. A perfect day though is when she heads out of town to enjoy lunch by a pub on the river, any river, in company with her husband and friends.

Natalie is a member of the Romantic Novelists Association, the Society of Authors and the Society of Women Writers and Journalists.

Social Media Links – https://nataliekleinman.com/

https://www.facebook.com/NatalieKleinmanAuthor/

Twitter: @NatKleinman

https://www.instagram.com/nataliekleinman6279

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.