Murder at the House on the Hill by Victoria Walters @Vicky_Walters @HeraBooks @rararesources #bookreview #cosycrime

Murder At The House On The Hill written by Victoria Walters, publisher Hera, is available NOW in ebook and paperback format.

Book Blurb

Once Upon A Crime…

Nancy Hunter and her grandmother Jane Hunter run the Dedley Endings Bookshop, selling crime, thriller and mystery books, in a small, quiet Cotswold village where nothing ever happens…

That is, until the wealthy and reclusive Roth family open up their mansion for the first time in twenty years, inviting the people of Dedley End to a lavish engagement party.

While everyone is thrilled to finally look around the mansion on the hill, the festivities are quickly cut short when beautiful Lucy, recently married to young Harry Roth, is found dead after being pushed over the first-floor balustrade.

But who among the guests could have been capable of her murder – and why?

Nancy and Jane decide to investigate – after all, not only do they own a crime themed bookshop, they were also both named after famous literary detectives – but soon wonder if they’ve taken on more than they can handle. Especially when it seems the killer has worked out that they’re hot on their heels…

Can they catch the murderer before the murderer catches up with them? Or will there be a deadly ending to this story?

Join the unlikeliest detective duo for the killer opener of The Dedley End Mysteries series, by a major voice in women’s fiction.

Purchase Links

AMZ: https://amzn.to/3yJqSKk

Kobo: https://bit.ly/2SzAN4h

Apple: https://apple.co/3yJGkWE

I voluntarily reviewed an arc of this book. All opinions are my own and no content may be copied. However, authors and publishers may use elements of my reviews for quotes.

Victoria Walters is known for her contemporary feel-good romances so Murder at the House on the Hill is a complete genre swap for her and for me too. I’ve only dabbled in reading crime before but I had every faith in the author to deliver us something different but not too unsettling. My verdict: I really enjoyed this cosy crime, I was hooked with the storyline but also charmed by the characters and the gorgeous Cotswold country village setting.

I don’t know whether it was just me but as I was reading the novel I imagined the author as our leading lady Nancy!

Nancy and her lovely gran, Jane, live and work in the small village of Dedley End in the Cotswold. The name of the village is quirky and fab! They own the bookshop, Dedley Endings, a store dedicated to crime, mystery and thrillers and it sounded such a cosy retreat for all book lovers. Nothing much happens in this cosy, quintessentially English village so when an invite to a party at Roth Lodge arrives excitement and speculation ensues as the Roth family have kept themselves to themselves for 30 years.

The party brings glitz and glamour to the village with awe and wonder as the guests enter the splendid house. Introductions are made, canapes are tasted and the champagne is flowing but the merriment is halted with a jolt as a loud scream echoes throughout. Sadly, a body has been found and foul play is on everyone’s mind but ‘who dunnit’?!

The village is full of gossip on the events of party as the majority of the villagers were in attendance. Nancy and her best friend, Jonathan, have interesting thoughts about the crime and with Nancy’s evident interest in all things mysterious they vow to track down the accomplice of this crime.

We follow Nancy, Jane and Jonathan as they unearth secrets and lies surrounding the Roth family and the sad demise of a young woman.

This was such a fun read as it played on the cosy crime feels and there were no gruesome or graphic scenes to upset the balance. The pairing of Nancy and her gran was great and the age difference blended well together. I also enjoyed Nancy and Jonathan’s partnership, childhood friends who have bickered and teased each other for years but are fiercely loyal. I am looking forward to more from Dedley End and to see if Nancy and Jonathan’s friendship blossoms into something more.

Author Bio – Victoria Walters writes up-lifting and inspiring stories. She’s the author of the bestselling GLENDALE HALL series, which continues with its third book HOPEFUL HEARTS at GLENDALE HALL in September, as well as two other standalone novels – SUMMER at the KINDNESS CAFE, and THE SECOND LOVE of my LIFE. She has been chosen for WHSmith Fresh Talent and shortlisted for two RNA awards. Victoria was also picked as an Amazon Rising Star, and her books have won wide reader acclaim.

Victoria is a full-time author. She lives in Surrey with her cat Harry, and loves books, clothes, music, going out for tea and cake, and posting photos on Instagram.

Find out more about Victoria by following on Instagram at @vickyjwalters, on Twitter at @Vicky_Walters or by visiting her blog at:https://victoria-writes.com/.

A Little Piece of Paradise by T.A. Williams @tawilliamsbooks @canelo_co @rararesources #bookreview #alittlepieceofparadise

A Little Piece of Paradise written by T.A. Williams, publisher Canelo Escape, is available NOW in ebook format.

Book Blurb

The inheritance of a lifetime… with a catch

When Sophie’s uncle leaves her a castle in the Italian Riviera in his will, she can’t believe her luck. The catch? She and her estranged sister, Rachel, must live there together for three months in order to inherit it.  

Having worked in Rome for four years, Sophie’s excited to revisit to Italy, even if it reignites memories of a cheating ex who soon learns of her return and wants to rekindle their spark. Sophie realises that distance does indeed make the heart grow fonder – but for her friend back home, Chris, who she discovers is more to her than just a friend.

With the clock ticking, can Sophie and Rachel stick it out and heal old wounds, or are the sisters destined to go their own way at the end of the three months? And does Chris feel the same way about Sophie as she does for him?

A beautiful story of romance and sisterhood, perfect for fans of Alex Brown and Lucy Coleman.

Purchase Links

UK – https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B09F5QJQDZ

US – https://www.amazon.com/dp/B09F5QJQDZ

I voluntarily reviewed an arc of this book. All opinions are my own and no content may be copied. However, authors and publishers may use elements of my reviews for quotes.

I am so pleased to be involved in the Publication Day celebrations for T.A. Williams latest novel: A Little Piece of Paradise.

T.A. Williams has a winning formula for writing contemporary romance novels that are pure escapism. He knows what works and his readers come back time and time again. For me it is pleasing and comforting to know as a reader we will get this and more.

A Little Piece of Paradise is a story set in a beautiful area in Northern Italy were two sisters who have had a turbulent relationship the last five years are reunited as they are joint beneficiaries of their late uncle’s medieval castle in Italy.

Their uncle didn’t want to make it easy for the sisters and his final wish was for them to be reunited therefore he placed a condition in his will that Sophie and Rachel had to live together in the castle for 3 months before the property could legally be there’s. Other conditions were also placed in the will but the main one of the girls sorting out their relationship was the deciding factor.

Three months is a long time to get to know the reasons why Rachel broke contact with her family but it is also a good time to learn more about each other. A lot has happened over the five years and emotions are running high.

Complications of the heart are not far from either of Sophie and Rachel’s minds but Sophie knows she can rely on her faithful dog, Jeeves. The author always includes his trademark dog in each of his stories and I always look forward to this as animals, dogs in particular, do bring a lightness and warmth to a story and can also bring out the best out of characters.

I loved this setting of the castle away from the tourist traps along the coastline. T.A. Williams loves his locations especially if it has historical and archaeological interest and this always transpires well on the pages. There is also a great love of the food and culture and it makes your taste buds envious of the delicious sounding foods enjoyed locally.

A lovely romance perfect to escape with.

Author Bio – I’m a man. And a pretty old man as well. I did languages at university a long time ago and then lived and worked in France and Switzerland before going to Italy for seven years as a teacher of English. My Italian wife and I then came back to the UK with our little daughter (now long-since grown up) where I ran a big English language school for many years. We now live in a sleepy little village in Devonshire. I’ve been writing almost all my life but it was only seven years ago that I finally managed to find a publisher who liked my work enough to offer me my first contract.

The fact that I am now writing escapist romance is something I still find hard to explain. My early books were thrillers and historical novels. Maybe it’s because there are so many horrible things happening in the world today that I feel I need to do my best to provide something to cheer my readers up. My books provide escapism to some gorgeous locations, even if travel to them is currently difficult.

Social Media Links –

Website: www.tawilliamsbooks.com

Twitter: https://www.twitter.com/tawilliamsbooks

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/TrevorWilliamsBooks/