Christmas at Conwenna Cove by Darcie Boleyn book review

christmas at conwenna cove

Christmas at Conwenna Cove, written by Darcie Boleyn, publisher Canelo, is available NOW in ebook format.

To buy link:  http://amzn.to/2z89VdB

Product Details (as per amazon page)

A heartwarming, romantic and Christmassy novel set in the gorgeous Cornish village of Conwenna Cove.

When Grace Phillips travels to Conwenna Cove to help her parents move there 30 years after their honeymoon in the village, she sees why they fell in love with the place. The festive decorations, carols in the air and constant supply of delicious mince pies certainly make it hard to leave. Grace soon meets local vet Oli Davenport and initially finds him rude, but learning about his passion for animals and how much he cares for his two kids helps Grace to see a softer side to Oli.

It’s been two years since Oli lost his wife to cancer. Though he loves eleven-year-old Amy and five-year-old Tom more than anything it’s hard to be mum and dad. He has no interest in romance until he crosses paths with beautiful and kind-hearted Grace. The sparks fly but both Oli and Grace are holding onto fear about letting someone into their heart.

As the snow falls and Christmas wishes come true can Conwenna Cove work its magic and help Grace and Oli find the happiness they both deserve?

greyhound heart

This was such a delightful read.  It was a treat to return to Conwenna Cove and I was completely romanticised again by the landscape.  The fictional coastal village that the author has created sounds so idyllic with its quaint cottages and the little independent shops together with the beachside ambience but what makes this story more heartfelt is the occupants of the village.  There is a real sense of community in the village from those that were born in the village to those that have sort solace and have been welcomed with open arms to this wonderful seaside location.  I feel like I want to pack my case and have my own Conwenna Cove hug.

This story focuses on Grace Phillips who has travelled down to Cornwall from her home in Cardiff to help her parents settle in their new cottage in the Cove.  Grace and her parents have suffered such a terrible loss and her parents are hoping that this new start will bring a new perspective to their life, a chance to reflect and a chance to embrace what life throws at them.  Grace is an author so staying with her parents for a short while is no hardship to her career as she can work from anywhere.  When Grace meets the village vet Oli Davenport she is struck by his handsome features but his aloof persona doesn’t help him win friends too easily.  However, given time Grace discovers more about Oli and with his huge commitment to the health and welfare of animals and to his devotion to his children, eleven year old Amy and five year old Tom, Grace appreciates this side to Oli.

Oli Davenport loves his children and loves his job but he is still grieving for his wife who sadly passed away two years ago.  When he first meets Grace he is struck by her beauty but this sets off a chain reaction of confused emotions in him.  His first priority is his children and he also feels like he shouldn’t be having any feelings for any woman since becoming a widower.  However, the more Oli and Grace get to know each other the more they understand that they each are holding a heartache and are still grieving.

Will the beautiful landscape, the wonderful honesty in children and the sad plight of the animals in need that Oli faces daily help these two people learn to love again?

A wonderful, heartfelt, festive read that left me sighing with contentment.

To learn more about Darcie Boleyn and her work please visit the following pages:

Website:  https://darcieboleyn.wordpress.com/

Twiter:  http://www.twitter.com/DarcieBoleyn

Facebook:  http://www.facebook.com/darcieboleyn/

Christmas trio from Sheila Roberts … it’s beginning to feel alot like Christmas :)

I’d like to thank the publishers for copies of the following books for an honest review.

Sheila Roberts, is the NYT and USA Today bestselling author of heart warming romance novels. Her novels have been described as perfect for fans of Debbie Macomber, Nora Roberts and Jill Shalvis.

the snow globe

The Snow Globe is available to download now from amazon, link: http://www.amazon.co.uk/The-Snow-Globe-Sheila-Roberts-ebook/dp/B00O80WLLY/ref=pd_sim_kinc_1?ie=UTF8&refRID=1HJNSXYX15FS7BGREWRB

Christmas is a magical time and what better than to indulge in a little Christmas magic than with a festive book. I loved this little novella. The story is magical, heartwarming and is full of hope for new beginnings. Kiley, the main female character, is recently single and recently unemployed. She is feeling pretty miserable at the run-up to Christmas. Whilst out with friends she is drawn to an antiques shop. Her eyes are alerted to a snow globe for sale and is instantly mesmerised by its beauty. The shop owner approaches her and reveals the unusual story behind the snow globe. We follow the story with Kiley and her friends welcoming the snow globe into their lives and embracing the changes it brings with it.  3.5/5*

the nine lives of christmasThe Nine Lives of Christmas is available to download now from amazon, link: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Nine-Lives-Christmas-Sheila-Roberts-ebook/dp/B00O80WLM8/ref=pd_sim_kinc_1?ie=UTF8&refRID=0Z4N9X09DXYZ53P6PXW4

I must admit, this is my favourite of the 3 books. It is a sweet Christmas story written from the points of view of a homeless ginger cat and a kind hearted fireman who takes pity on Ambrose the cat. It was clever of the author to write sections of the story from Ambrose, the cat, point of view and also from Zach, the fireman, point of view. Ambrose had such funny anecdotes of how he perceived human relationships. He was a clever cat and worked out human behaviour better than us! A lovely, heartwarming, funny, romantic, festive story.  4.5/5*

on strike for christmasOn Strike for Christmas is available now to download, amazon link: http://www.amazon.co.uk/On-Strike-Christmas-Sheila-Roberts-ebook/dp/B00O80WLN2/ref=pd_sim_kinc_2?ie=UTF8&refRID=1E5SAGSR6SGVV6A3STGG

Joy’s husband hates Christmas and the whole party season. Laura’s husband is the complete opposite, he loves parties that much he invites all and sundry to their home far too often. Joy decides that this year she’ll support her husband to have no celebrations at Christmas. Laura has had enough of cleaning up after her husband and his many merry friends and declares no parties this Christmas. The girls announce their ‘no Christmas pact’ to their friends at the knitting group and are soon supported by all of them when they all decide to go ‘on strike for Christmas’. Can the men in their lives cope without Christmas and celebrating or will they attempt to make Christmas happen themselves. This is a fun, festive read that is comical, enlightening and heartwarming; lessons are soon learned from both sides of the couples.4/5*

On Strike for Christmas was made into a movie for the Lifetime Channel and The Nine Lives of Christmas is being made into a movie for The Hallmark Channel.

You can connect with Sheila Roberts on her facebook page:

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Sheila-Roberts/76502579853?fref=ts

and her website:

http://www.sheilasplace.com/

Snow Angels, Secrets and Christmas Cake by Sue Watson

snow angels, secrets and christmas cake book coverThe new book by Sue Watson is available now from all good booksellers including amazon:  http://www.amazon.co.uk/Snow-Angels-Secrets-Christmas-Cake-ebook/dp/B00O4GEROG/ref=tmm_kin_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&sr=&qid=

Product Description (from amazon)

Snow Angels, Secrets and Christmas Cake is a truly heart-warming and hilarious read about sisters, love and finding the courage to be yourself – one snowflake at a time.

For Tamsin Angel, Christmas is always the biggest and best… chic parties and a little showbiz sparkle are a must. This year though, things aren’t going quite as planned…

With bailiffs suddenly at the door and her husband nowhere to be found, it looks like Christmas just got downsized. Moving into her sister’s one-bedroom flat, she wonders whether things will ever be the same again.

After losing her husband on Christmas Eve, Sam Angel has rebuilt her life around her son Jacob and her new business – The White Angel Bakery. She’s also found herself a very handsome, loving boyfriend, but is struggling to let go of the past.

Thrown together with a sprinkle of Christmas magic, Sam and Tamsin might just learn a little more about each other – and themselves. But when disaster strikes at the bakery, will they be able to save the day in time for Christmas?

I’d like to thank the publishers and netgalley for an ecopy of this book for an honest review.

What a delightful, heartwarming, funny, thought provoking read. I’m fizzing with Christmas spirit after reading this novel!

The story was centred around the lives of the Angel sisters, Tamsin and Sam. The sisters each had their own heartaches to mend but a common bond to make The Angel Bakery a success gave them both hope for the future. Success didn’t come easy for the girls and adventures, many were sparkly, white and magical, happened along this journey.

This novel is another success for Sue Watson, her writing style is like stepping inside a book with your friends. I love her frankness and her one liners make the novel more real. I also sense a mutual appreciation of all things cake from Sue too. A world without cake is unthinkable so it’s common sense to put cake with books 🙂 Eating cake whilst reading this book will only enhance the experience!

Here is a little teaser from the book:

teaser 2 snow angels, secrets and christmas cake

 A lovely, heartwarming, romantic, funny Christmas read I thoroughly recommend.