Christmas at the Falling-Down Guesthouse by Lilly Bartlett blogtour/book review

christmas at the falling down guesthouse

Christmas at the Falling-Down Guesthouse written by Lilly Bartlett, publisher Notting Hill Press is available in ebook format NOW.

To buy link:  http://amzn.to/2xZigP4

Product Details (as per amazon page)

Put your feet up and tuck into the mince pies, because you won’t have to lift a finger to enjoy this Christmas at the Falling-Down Guesthouse!

Too bad the same can’t be said for single mother and extremely undomestic goddess, Lottie. When her beloved Aunt Kate ends up in hospital just before Christmas, Lottie and her seven-year-old daughter rush to rural Wales to take over her B&B. A picky hotel reviewer and his mad family are coming to stay, and without the rating only he can give them, Aunt Kate will lose her livelihood.

But Lottie can barely run her own life, let alone a hotel. How will she manage to turn the falling-down guesthouse into the luxurious wonderland the reviewer expects? And could the mysterious taxi driver, Danny, who agrees to help her, turn out to be the real gift this season?

As the snow sparkles on the trees and hot chocolate steams in your hand, snuggle into the delicious magic of Christmas at the Falling-Down Guesthouse.

PLUS A FREE BONUS CHRISTMAS NOVELLA! – Christmas Carol

christmas at the falling down guesthouse Blog Tour

I am so pleased to be involved in the blogtour celebrating the launch of Christmas at the Falling-Down Guesthouse and happy to share my review with you all.

Christmas at the Falling-Down Guesthouse is a standalone novella that was first published as The Reluctant Elf by Michele Gorman, it has been re-edited with some added Lilly Bartlett (Michele Gorman’s alias) sparkle.

Lottie is a single mum living in London with her delightful daughter Mabel. When she receives news that her dear Aunt Kate in Wales has been involved in an accident and is in hospital Lottie and Mabel rush to Wales to take charge of her Aunt’s B & B.  Unbeknown to Lottie Aunt Kate has arranged for her B & B to be reviewed during the Christmas period so Lottie has to do her best to ensure her aunt receives her star rating.  However, when Lottie and  Mabel open the doors all is not hunky-dory at the B & B and Lottie has a huge task ahead of her.  What follows is a fun, heartwarming tale of coping with Christmas with a family from hell and a house falling to bits.   The reader is treated to some very funny scenes that will have you chuckling out aloud.  I adore Lilly Bartlett’s fabulous wit and humour her writing style is honest and she sets her stories in such idyllic settings even in a falling down guesthouse you can feel the warmth emanating from the scenes written on the pages.

Christmas at the Falling-Down Guesthouse is a gorgeous, sweet novella. It’s put me in a lovely mood and made me feel a little festive.

Do not miss the wonderful giveaway that Lilly Bartlett/Michele Gorman is running at the moment to win 4 dozen homemade cookies made by the author herself.  Details of this giveaway can be found on my previous post here.

Cookie giveaway

To learn more about Lilly Bartlett/Michele Gorman please visit the following pages:

Website:  http://www.michelegorman.co.uk/

Twitter:  http://www.twitter.com/MicheleGormanUK

Facebook:  http://www.facebook.com/MicheleGormanBooks/

Christmas trio from Sheila Roberts … it’s beginning to feel alot like Christmas :)

I’d like to thank the publishers for copies of the following books for an honest review.

Sheila Roberts, is the NYT and USA Today bestselling author of heart warming romance novels. Her novels have been described as perfect for fans of Debbie Macomber, Nora Roberts and Jill Shalvis.

the snow globe

The Snow Globe is available to download now from amazon, link: http://www.amazon.co.uk/The-Snow-Globe-Sheila-Roberts-ebook/dp/B00O80WLLY/ref=pd_sim_kinc_1?ie=UTF8&refRID=1HJNSXYX15FS7BGREWRB

Christmas is a magical time and what better than to indulge in a little Christmas magic than with a festive book. I loved this little novella. The story is magical, heartwarming and is full of hope for new beginnings. Kiley, the main female character, is recently single and recently unemployed. She is feeling pretty miserable at the run-up to Christmas. Whilst out with friends she is drawn to an antiques shop. Her eyes are alerted to a snow globe for sale and is instantly mesmerised by its beauty. The shop owner approaches her and reveals the unusual story behind the snow globe. We follow the story with Kiley and her friends welcoming the snow globe into their lives and embracing the changes it brings with it.  3.5/5*

the nine lives of christmasThe Nine Lives of Christmas is available to download now from amazon, link: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Nine-Lives-Christmas-Sheila-Roberts-ebook/dp/B00O80WLM8/ref=pd_sim_kinc_1?ie=UTF8&refRID=0Z4N9X09DXYZ53P6PXW4

I must admit, this is my favourite of the 3 books. It is a sweet Christmas story written from the points of view of a homeless ginger cat and a kind hearted fireman who takes pity on Ambrose the cat. It was clever of the author to write sections of the story from Ambrose, the cat, point of view and also from Zach, the fireman, point of view. Ambrose had such funny anecdotes of how he perceived human relationships. He was a clever cat and worked out human behaviour better than us! A lovely, heartwarming, funny, romantic, festive story.  4.5/5*

on strike for christmasOn Strike for Christmas is available now to download, amazon link: http://www.amazon.co.uk/On-Strike-Christmas-Sheila-Roberts-ebook/dp/B00O80WLN2/ref=pd_sim_kinc_2?ie=UTF8&refRID=1E5SAGSR6SGVV6A3STGG

Joy’s husband hates Christmas and the whole party season. Laura’s husband is the complete opposite, he loves parties that much he invites all and sundry to their home far too often. Joy decides that this year she’ll support her husband to have no celebrations at Christmas. Laura has had enough of cleaning up after her husband and his many merry friends and declares no parties this Christmas. The girls announce their ‘no Christmas pact’ to their friends at the knitting group and are soon supported by all of them when they all decide to go ‘on strike for Christmas’. Can the men in their lives cope without Christmas and celebrating or will they attempt to make Christmas happen themselves. This is a fun, festive read that is comical, enlightening and heartwarming; lessons are soon learned from both sides of the couples.4/5*

On Strike for Christmas was made into a movie for the Lifetime Channel and The Nine Lives of Christmas is being made into a movie for The Hallmark Channel.

You can connect with Sheila Roberts on her facebook page:

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Sheila-Roberts/76502579853?fref=ts

and her website:

http://www.sheilasplace.com/

Cover reveal: Christmas Presence by Lisa J Hobman

So excited for the lovely author Lisa J Hobman, her Christmas novella, Christmas Presence is now available to pre-order on amazon. The novella is due to be released on 6th November 2014.

Goodreads link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23248662-christmas-presence
Amazon UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00NMY1ACS
Amazon dot com: http://amzn.com/B00NMY1ACS

IMG_0490.JPG

Blurb: Mallory got her happily ever after, but haunting loss in the past has her running scared that she will lose her beloved yet again. Can anything…or anyone make her realise she needs to let go of the past and live for today?

I’m looking forward to this novella, I loved Mallory’s story from Bridge over the Atlantic and the companion book Bridge of Hope. When I got to the end of both of these books I felt sad that I’d finished reading about Mallory, she had become like a friend to me so this novella is much needed fuel for my craving to know what follows for Mallory and Greg. I feel that the best thing an author can do is make you fall in love with the book characters and Lisa did just this in the above two novels.

Check out Lisa’s author page on Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/LisaJHobmanAuthor?ref=ts&fref=ts); amazon uk (http://www.amazon.co.uk/Lisa-J-Hobman/e/B00C27D7KY/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_2?qid=1411153168&sr=1-2); goodreads (https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7025491.Lisa_J_Hobman)