The Wedding Girls by Kate Thompson book review

the-wedding-girls

The Wedding Girls written by Kate Thompson, publisher Pan Macmillan, is available NOW in ebook and paperback format.

To buy link:

Product Details (as per amazon page)

It’s 1936 and the streets of London’s East End are grimy and brutal, but in one corner of Bethnal Green it is forever Hollywood . . .

Herbie Taylor’s photography studio is nestled in the heart of bustling Green Street. Tomboy Stella and troubled Winnie work in Herbie’s studio; their best friend and hopeless romantic Kitty works next door as an apprentice dressmaker. All life passes through the studio, wishing to capture that perfect moment in time.

Kitty works tirelessly to create magical bridal gowns, but with each stitch she wonders if she’ll ever get a chance to wear a white dress. Stella and Winnie sprinkle a dusting of Hollywood glamour over happy newly-weds, but secretly dream of escaping the East End . . .

Community is strong on Green Street, but can it stand the ultimate test? As clouds of war brew on the horizon, danger looms over the East End. Will the Wedding Girls find their happy ever afters, before it’s too late?

vintage singer sewing machine

The Wedding Girls is a wonderful story that I thoroughly enjoyed.  The beautiful cover cleverly hides a raw, insightful, inspiring, hopeful, gripping, romantic story that will stay with you for a long time.

The story is set in 1936 in one of the most deprived areas of East End, London.  Families were living in cramped, damp, broken properties and were struggling to find work to feed their children.  Although, this sounds quite depressing the morale of the inhabitants, especially the women, was far from bleak.  There was a true camaraderie between all who lived in the area and the community spirit was sorely tested when fascist blackshirts moved into the neighbourhood and started to wreak havoc to lives and livelihoods.  The quiet streets of Bethnal Green had soon turned into a political war field and danger had been delivered right up to their doors.

The three main characters; Kitty, Winnie and Stella are best friends born and bred in the East End and now working in the wedding industry.  Kitty is an apprentice dressmaker creating beautiful wedding gowns to all the hopeful brides-to-be and Winnie and Stella work for Herbie Taylor’s photography studio.  Herbie Taylor’s photography studio is a place of old fashioned charm that treats each wedding couple as royalty when they step forth into the studio for their wedding day photos.

Kitty is quite shy and has dreamed of one day being  courted and swooned in her own romantic wedding. Winnie is going steady with Treacle, a local lad that is besotted with her.  Stella is very independent and headstrong and has her own dreams of leaving the East End and travelling with her camera.

The girls lives are suddenly thrown into chaos with the political clashes in the streets.  However, the war is not just in the streets for Winnie as for years she has been hiding a traumatic and terrifying secret.  This secret is dangerous and unpredictable.

The Wedding Girls, as the three best friends are known, bring much needed joy, colour, glamour and romance to the area during a time of political and social unrest.

A fabulous story that had me gripped.  I loved how the author, Kate Thompson, incorporated in her story a pivotal moment in East End history.  Fictional books really do bring history to life.  This was a story full of solidarity.  A story that doesn’t hide the ugliness of life.  A story bringing much hope.  A story to warm your heart.  Just brilliant 5/5*

I voluntarily reviewed an arc of this novel.  All opinions are my own and no content may be copied. However, authors and publishers may use elements of my reviews for quotes.

To find out more about Kate Thompson and her books please do visit the following pages:

Website:  http://www.katethompsonmedia.co.uk/

Twitter:  http://www.twitter.com/katethompson380

Facebook:  http://www.facebook.com/KateThompsonAuthor/

The Mill River Redemption by Darcie Chan – Book review and blog tour

 

The Mill River Redemption blog tour poster

The Mill River Redemption blog tour poster

blog tour

The Mill River Redemption by Darcie Chan is available on ebook and paperback now.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Amazon synopsis:
Book Description

An enchanting novel of family, self-discovery, love and forgiveness from the New York Times bestselling author of The Mill River Recluse. Perfect for fans of Maeve Binchy, Cathy Kelly and Erica James.

Product Description

Having unexpectedly lost her husband and lacking the means to support herself, Josie DiSanti and her two daughters take refuge in the small town of Mill River, to live with Josie’s aunt, Ivy. The sisters, Rose and Emily, are inseparable growing up – until a shocking tragedy tears them apart.

Years later, Rose and Emily return to Mill River for the reading of their mother’s will, where they learn that Josie would do anything to force their reconciliation: the sisters must move into neighbouring houses for the summer and work together to locate the key to Josie’s safe deposit box, which contains their inheritance. And so, left with no choice, Rose and Emily reluctantly begin their search. But in a place known for its magic and miracles, little do they know that an even greater treasure awaits them . . .

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Mill River Recluse, comes this enchanting story of family, self-discovery, love and forgiveness.

About the Author

Darcie Chan is the New York Times bestselling author of The Mill River Recluse. Her second novel, The Mill River Redemption, is also set in the fictional town of Mill River. Darcie has been featured in The New York Times, USA Today, and The Wall Street Journal. She writes fiction full-time and lives just north of New York City with her husband and son.


I was provided with a copy of The Mill River Redemption for an honest review.

This touching story opened immediately at a tragedy, with the sudden death of her husband, Josie DiSanti was very frightened of her future bringing up her two young daughters on her own. The only place Josie felt she could go was to seek shelter at her aunt’s house in a small town called Mill River.

The story develops into an interesting family saga. It has many twists and turns and unexplained events come to light which changes the future of all concerned. I liked how the story flitted from one timeline to another, it felt like two novels in one. At times the story was very sad and touching but there were moments that were heart warming, fun and a little magical.

I enjoyed this novel immensely, it kept me engaged and I couldn’t quite believe the direction it went. I wasn’t expecting it and how the author wrote and described this scene made it all the more believable. I will certainly look out for more works by Darcie Chan. An enjoyable 4/5 read.

The Mill River Redemption can be purchased from all good bookstores including amazon: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Mill-River-Redemption-Darcie-Chan-ebook/dp/product-description/B00L845NR2/ref=dp_proddesc_0?ie=UTF8&n=341677031&s=digital-text