The Velvet Ribbon (Tarabeg 3) by Nadine Dorries @NadineDorries @HoZ_Books @ed_pr #blogtour #bookreview #saga #TheVelvetRibbon #Tarabegtrilogy

the velvet ribbon

The Velvet Ribbon written by Nadine Dorries, publisher Head of Zeus is OUT NOW in ebook and hardcover.  The ebook is also included in the kindleunlimited scheme.

To buy link: https://amzn.to/2upTThj

Book Blurb

The heart-breaking final novel in the Tarabeg trilogy, from million-copy bestseller Nadine Dorries.

Mary Kate Malone has come to Liverpool from Ireland to seek her fortune, but from the very beginning things have gone wrong. Now she is living secretly with her great love, Dr Nicholas Marcus, while his wife Lavinia, mother of his two sons, plots her revenge on the girl who she believes has destroyed her marriage.
When disaster strikes, Mary Kate’s first instinct is to flee to her family in Ireland. But back in Tarabeg, a charismatic American stranger has set the village by the ears and it isn’t the place Mary Kate remembers any more. To add to her problems, Dr Gaskell and Matron from St Angelus Hospital have come to Tarabeg to recruit nurses – and Mary Kate’s Liverpool life is about to come back to haunt her with a vengeance.

Velvet Ribbon banner

I voluntarily reviewed an arc of this book. All opinions are my own and no content may be copied. However, authors and publishers may use elements of my reviews for quotes.

I am so pleased to be involved in the blogtour celebrating and promoting the launch of the final instalment in the Tarabeg trilogy written by Nadine Dorries.  This is my first introduction to the work of Nadine Dorries so I completely read this book with fresh open eyes and I have to say I loved it!

Nadine Dorries words drew me into a saga that swept across the sea from Liverpool to a small village in Ireland.  Mary Kate left Tarabeg two years ago for pastures new in Liverpool and fell in love with the city and a young Doctor.  However, her new life in Liverpool would be frowned upon in Ireland so Mary Kate kept her love life a secret from her family.  When tragedy strikes Mary Kate feels compelled to return to her home and family in Tarabeg but when she arrives back it doesn’t feel the same and her heart belongs elsewhere.

With the news of Mary Kate’s return the villagers are excited with her arrival but danger lies ahead bringing the community together with a strength like no other.

I felt a real sense of authenticity with Nadine Dorries words and dialect and found myself reading along with the relevant accent.  I enjoyed reading about the vivid difference of the industrial boon of the city of Liverpool to the village lifestyle of Tarabeg.  This is a historical saga that has it all; drama, mystery, charm, community spirit, family feuds, new beginnings, romance with the added bonus of Irish mythology and legends and a belief of spirits and herbology.  I’m just sad that I’ve come across a lovely saga at the end of it’s trilogy but I know now that I’ve found a new saga author to add to my favourites list.

About the Author

Hibbert_Dorries_07.JPGNadine Dorries was born and raised on a council estate in Liverpool in the 1950s and 60s; the dawn of the Mersey beat. Her family were part of a close-knit Irish Catholic community, most of whom came to work on the docks of Merseyside from rural Ireland.

Nadine trained as a nurse, working in hospitals in Warrington and Liverpool. After qualifying she moved to Zambia for a year and ran a school for local children. On her return to the UK, she founded, ran, and sold her own business, Company Kids Ltd, which provided childcare services for working parents.

Determined to give something back, Nadine entered politics. In the 2005 general elections she was elected as the MP for Mid-Bedfordshire, a position she continues to hold. One of the most well-known politicians in Britain, she is renowned for her determination to push her chosen causes to the top of the political agenda. In 2012 she was a star of ITV’s ‘I’m a Celebrity, Get Me Out of Here’.
A successful businesswoman and passionate Member of Parliament, in 2013 Nadine achieved another lifelong ambition and wrote her debut novel, The Four Streets. She has since become a No. 1 bestselling author with sales in excess of a million copies.

Nadine was made Under-Secretary of State for Health in 2019.

Twitter & Instagram:  @NadineDorries

Blog: http://dorries.org/

**COVER REVEAL** – People Like Us by Louise Fein @FeinLouise @HoZ_Books #bookcoverreveal #histfic #PeopleLikeUs #debutnovel

stage spotlight for cover reveals

I am so pleased to be involved in the ‘Cover Reveal’ for a highly anticipated debut historical novel by Louise Fein.  There’s a huge buzz in the publishing offices of Head of Zeus as People Like Us is one of their lead titles for next year.  Here is a little more details about this novel:

Title:  People Like Us

Author:  Louise Fein

Publisher:  Head of Zeus

Release Date:  7th May 2020 in eBook and Hardcover; 3rd September 2020 in paperback

To pre-order links:

Amazon: https://amzn.to/2rl61Pk
Waterstones: https://bit.ly/2KRRMYV
Google Play: https://bit.ly/2DcJEOA
Kobo: https://bit.ly/2OM1iy7

Book Blurb

Leipzig, 1930’s Germany.

Hetty Heinrich is a young girl growing up under Nazi rule. With an SS officer father, a brother in the Luftwaffe and a member of the BDM, Hetty is the epitome of a perfect German child.

But Walter changes everything. Blond haired, blue-eyed, perfect in every way Walter. The boy who saved her life. A Jew.

As she falls more and more in love with a man who is against all she has been taught, Hetty begins to question everything. Will the steady march of dark forces destroy their world, or can love ultimately triumph?

Perfect for fans of The Tattooist of AuschwitzThe Book Thief and Kate Furnivall.

About the Author

Louise Fein holds an MA in Creative Writing from St Mary’s University. Prior to studying for her master’s, she ran a commodity consultancy business following a career in banking and law. She lives in Surrey with her family. People Like Us is inspired by her family history, and by the alarming parallels she sees between the early 30s and today.

Follow Louise:

Facebook: @LouiseFeinAuthor

Twitter: @FeinLouise

Follow Head of Zeus

Website: www.headofzeus.com

Twitter: @HoZ_Books

Facebook: @headofzeus

Instagram: @headofzeus

And here is the cover …

People Like Us

Anna by Amanda Prowse book review

Anna

Anna written by Amanda Prowse, publisher Head of Zeus, is available in ebook format from 8th March 2018.

To pre-order/buy link:  https://goo.gl/TQt4Tv

Product Details (as per amazon page)

One Love, Two Stories.
Anna Cole grew up in care, and is determined to start a family of her own. Theo Montgomery had a loveless childhood, and wants only to find his soulmate.
Then, one day, Theo meets Anna, and Anna meets Theo. Two damaged souls from different worlds. Is their love for each other enough to let go of the pain of their pasts? Or will Anna and Theo break each others’ hearts?
There are two sides to every love story. This is Anna’s.

abc clipart

I voluntarily reviewed an arc of  this book.  All opinions are my own and no content may be copied.  However, authors and publishers may use elements of my reviews for quotes.

Review

Anna is a deeply moving, beautifully romantic story full of emotions dealing with a torrent of heart-rending moments that define a young woman’s future.

Amanda Prowse is the master of storytelling that pulls at the heart strings but her characters and settings draw you in and you are captivated by the scenes set out so sublimely on the pages.

Anna has experienced so much tragedy, heartbreak and loss at a young age but the love and comfort and sheer belief she was given by her mother feels like she can take on the whole world. But is this enough for Anna to give her the strength to overcome what lies ahead?

All Anna wants is to feel like she belongs, to feel loved and cherished and part of a family. When Anna meets Theo she believes that he is the one to bring sunshine to her stormy days. However, little does Anna know is that Theo himself has faced many battles and his heart has weathered many storms. Can this pair of beautiful people with scarred pasts help each other and go some way to bring light back into their lives?

This story, Anna, was so beautiful and tender I adored it, every emotion it installed in me felt real and honest. I didn’t want the story to end and my mind was racing ahead to scenarios for how I would hope Anna’s life would continue.

I am desperate now to read Theo’s story and can already sense the anticipated emotions it will draw out of me.

To learn more about Amanda Prowse and her work please do visit the following pages;

Website:  http://amandaprowse.org/

Twitter:  http://www.twitter.com/MrsAmandaProwse

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/amandaprowsenogreaterlove

My Husband’s Wife by Amanda Prowse book review

 

my husbands wife

My Husband’s Wife written by Amanda Prowse, publisher Head of Zeus, is available NOW in ebook, hardcover, audio download and paperback format.  The ebook is also included in the kindleunlimited scheme.

To buy link:

Product Details (as per amazon page)

Once a week, Rosie Tipcott counts her blessings.

She goes to sit on her favourite bench on the north Devon cliffs, and thanks her lucky stars for her wonderful husband, her mischievous young daughters, and her neat little house by the sea. She vows to dedicate every waking hour to making her family happy.

But then her husband unexpectedly leaves her for another woman and takes the children. Now she must ask the question: what is left in her life? Can Rosie find the strength to rebuild herself? More importantly, does she even want to?

park bench clipart

This is the first book I’ve had the pleasure to read written by Amanda Prowse.  I’ve heard so many good remarks about her stories and My Husband’s Wife didn’t disappoint.  I was instantly glued to this heart wrenching family drama.  Amanda’s words took you right there with the characters and you could feel the torment, the hurt, the despair, the gut wrench … This was such an emotive storyline that gripped me and at times I was shocked by the turn of events and I was taken on the emotional journey with the characters.  When I got to the end I felt I wanted; no I needed more!

This is a story of a happy family that one day became broken and once the cracks appeared they started spreading, causing even more damage.  Could the damage be repairable?

Rosie and Phil have been happily married for 12 years, they have two beautiful daughters, Naomi 7 and Leona 5 and live in the idyllic seaside town of Woolacombe.  When Phil announces out of the blue that he wants more out of life and that he also wants more than her Rosie’s world is turned upside down but this is just the start.  Her new life, which she is struggling to comprehend, is now like an emotional war torn field that she is unable to climb over the debris.  The pain and the heart wrenching increases.  Rosie has to experience all this and more to appreciate what her heart truly wants and needs.

A beautiful, gripping story that pulls at your heart strings.  5/5*

I voluntarily reviewed an arc of this novel.  All opinions are my own and no content may be copied. However, authors and publishers may use elements of my reviews for quotes.

To find out more about Amanda Prowse and her books please do visit the following links:

Website:  http://www.amandaprowse.org/

Facebook:  http://www.facebook.com/amandaprowsenogreaterlove

Twitter:  http://www.twitter.com/MrsAmandaProwse