One Summer in Rome by Samantha Tonge book review

one summer final cover

One Summer in Rome written by Samantha Tonge, publisher HQ Digital, is available NOW in ebook format.

To buy link:  https://amzn.to/2IgR7wN

Product Details (as per amazon page)

To Rome…with love?
Mary Smith is turning her very ordinary life upside-down! She’s bought herself a one-way ticket to Rome and is ready for a summer she’ll never forget.
Men might be off the cards for waitress Mary, but within hours of arriving at the utterly charming family-run La Dolce Vita pizzeria, she’s already fallen in love with the bustling capital!
Only Dante Rossi, the mysterious (and drop-dead gorgeous) chef seems displeased with her arrival. And in the heat of the kitchen, it doesn’t take long for long-buried secrets to surface and sparks to fly…

heart shaped pizza

I voluntarily reviewed an arc of this book. All opinions are my own and no content may be copied. However, authors and publishers may use elements of my reviews for quotes.

This was such a wonderful treat of a read, a read that whisks you away to Rome that wakens up all your senses with it’s sights, sounds, tastes and aromas.  The author, Samantha Tonge, took me to this beautiful sounding city with it’s ancient monuments and piazzas filled with fountains, street artists and authentic Italian restaurants.  I could easily picture the scenes and the characters taking part in their daily lives.

This is the story of Mary Smith who has taken the plunge to leave her broken heart in the UK and move to Italy to work for a small family-run restaurant in the city.  Mary has had a tough upbringing and has longed for the love and support of a strong family unit.  Joining this Italian family was difficult at first as she felt like an outsider but the warmth she felt from her new employers gave her the confidence she needed to accept herself and her history.  Not all members of the family and team at the restaurant were quite so welcoming, Rocco the waiter and Dante the son had some reservations against Mary working at the restaurant.  Slowly barriers were let down and Mary was beginning to understand this close-knit team.  Mary also started letting her own barriers down but feared her heart would be broken again.

The restaurant has in the last few years experience much heartbreak and tragedy and it’s been particularly hard keeping the business going with Mary’s arrival she seems to have brought a certain joy and new ideas to the family.

A storyline that wasn’t all sunshine and amore Samantha Tonge has included a few serious topics in the storyline that were dealt with in a very sensitive manner.  However, to guide us away from the hardships of life we have a dance competition, Italian festival, Italian food, a wonderful feeling of togetherness and Dante who isn’t your average book hero, he’s so much more.

A book that makes you feel as bright, warm and comforting as the Italian sun and it’s cuisine.

To learn more about the author please do visit the following pages:

Website:  http://www.samanthatonge.co.uk/

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/SamTongeWriter

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/SamanthaTongeAuthor/

 

 

Advertisements

Blogblitz: One Summer in Rome by Samantha Tonge

one summer final cover

One Summer in Rome written by Samantha Tonge, publisher HQ Digital, is available NOW in ebook format.

To buy link:  https://amzn.to/2KMTGIF

Product Details (as per amazon page)

To Rome…with love?
Mary Smith is turning her very ordinary life upside-down! She’s bought herself a one-way ticket to Rome and is ready for a summer she’ll never forget.
Men might be off the cards for waitress Mary, but within hours of arriving at the utterly charming family-run La Dolce Vita pizzeria, she’s already fallen in love with the bustling capital!
Only Dante Rossi, the mysterious (and drop-dead gorgeous) chef seems displeased with her arrival. And in the heat of the kitchen, it doesn’t take long for long-buried secrets to surface and sparks to fly…
A deliciously heartwarming romance to have you dreaming of summer. Perfect for fans of Debbie Johnson and Caroline Roberts.

One-Summer-In-Rome-PDP

I am so pleased to be involved in the publication day blogblitz for Samantha Tonge’s latest heartwarming romance: One Summer in Rome.  I’ve read a few of Samantha Tonge’s novels and thoroughly enjoyed them so I’m eagerly awaiting to be transported away to the historical city of Rome.  I’m looking forward to sharing my review with you all soon as this novel is primed on my kindle as my next read.

About the Authorme-and-mitzie
Samantha Tonge lives in Cheshire with her lovely family and a cat who thinks it’s a dog. When not writing she spends her days cycling, willing cakes to rise and avoiding housework. She has sold over 80 short stories to women’s magazines. Her bestselling debut novel, Doubting Abbey, was shortlisted for the Festival of Romantic Fiction best Ebook award in 2014. Game of Scones hit #5 in the UK Kindle chart and won the Best Romantic Ebook category at the 2015 Love Stories Awards.

Twitter: https://twitter.com/SamTongeWriter
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SamanthaTongeAuthor
Website: http://samanthatonge.co.uk/

Cover Reveal: Breakfast at Poldark’s by Samantha Tonge

Breakfast at Poldarks_FINAL (3)

I am delighted to reveal the cover of Samantha Tonge’s upcoming new novel; Breakfast at Poldark’s.  Breakfast at Poldark’s is due to be published by Carina UK on the 28th July 2016.

To pre-order link:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Breakfast-at-Poldarks-Samantha-Tonge-ebook/dp/B01BTVPMJW/ref=tmm_kin_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=&sr=

Product Details (as per amazon page)

Kate Golightly needs to move forward and what better way to do that then with a trip to the Cornish coast with best friend and boss, Izzy.

The sea wind is just what Kate needs to finally relax and begin to let go of her past. Except she’s suddenly got one big reason to panic! She RSVP’d ‘yes’ to the Queen Bee of her high school’s wedding saying she’s bringing her boyfriend (she doesn’t have one) who looks just like Ross Poldark!

With only two weeks to find the Poldark look-alike of her dreams Kate is under a lot of pressure for the Cornish coast to deliver…

A hilarious and moving romantic novel from bestselling author, Samantha Tonge. A must-read this summer!

blue flower scroll n heart clipart

As soon as I saw this cover I was mesmerised by the gorgeous blues; from the sky, to the sea, to the blue in her dress it’s just so striking all together.

To find out more about Samantha Tonge and her books please visit the following links:

https://twitter.com/SamTongeWriter

https://www.facebook.com/SamanthaTongeAuthor

Game of Scones by Samantha Tonge book review

game of sconesGame of Scones by Samantha Tonge is out from today in ebook format, link below:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Game-Scones-deliciously-summery-read-ebook/dp/B00ULP98BQ/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1429523621&sr=1-1&keywords=game+of+scones

Product Details (as per amazon page)

Growing up, Pippa Pattinson’s summers were spent in the idyllic Greek island fishing village of Taxos. There she spent many long hazy days determinedly ignoring thoughts of the life her parents had mapped out for her (a dreary-but-secure accounting job and obligatory sensible husband!) Instead she daydreamed of running her own tea shop – serving the perfect scones – with mocha-eyed childhood friend Niklaus by her side…

Arriving back in Taxos for the first time in years, with suave boyfriend Henrik, Pippa barely recognises the tired little town – but is relieved to catch glimpses of the quaint, charming village she’s always loved. Together Niklaus and Pippa put together a proposal to save Taxos from tourist-tastic ruin, and at the heart of their plan is Pippa’s dream project: The Tastiest Little Tea Shop in Taxos. It’s time for Pippa to leave her London life behind and dust off her scone recipe that’s guaranteed to win over both locals and visitors. And amidst the rolling pins and raisins, it seems romance is blossoming where she’s least expecting it…

scone imageI’d like to thank the publishers and netgalley for an arc of this ebook.  Samantha Tonge is the bestselling author of over 80 short stories for mainstream magazines and her debut ebook Doubting Abbey was shortlisted for the 2014 Festival of Romantic Fiction best Ebook award.  Game of Scones is her fourth full length ebook novel.

First of all I was drawn to this novel by the lovely bright, cheerful summery cover.  The cover gives you hope of a lovely summery read and it wasn’t wrong …

Pippa had spent a lot of time in her childhood in the quaint Greek village of Taxos and had built up wonderful friendships with the villagers including a particular cheeky chap called Niko.  Pippa and Niko had spent a lot of time together in their teens dreaming of how they’d rescue wildlife and how Pippa would open up her own teashop.  However, Pippa’s parents had different ideas for her future and Pippa continued with her education in England and set up a metropolitan lifestyle in London working in finance and living with her executive boyfriend Henrik.  Pippa hasn’t been back to her beloved Taxos in 9 years however, a 3 week holiday has given her chance to go back and catch up with her friends.  Henrik decides to join Pippa on this holiday however, it doesn’t turn out to be the romantic 3 weeks she hoped.  A secret business meeting Henrik had previously arranged causes upset to her and the villagers.  Pippa also feels a different kind of spark when she catches up with Niko, the 14 year old she remembers back then has grown into a gorgeous, charming Greek god.  How will the villagers cope with the unexpected news from Henrik and how will Pippa manage with her confused heart regarding Henrik and Niko?

This was a gorgeous, summery, feel good romance that leaves you wanting to don your baking apron and make sones and visit a beautiful, idyllic Greek village called Taxos.  I adored this beautiful romcom with its added bonus of ‘magic fairy dust’.  ‘Magic fairy dust’ can give us the strength and encouragement to face situations head on together and achieve great things.

Samantha Tonge is holding a Game of Scones Launch party on facebook right now, so please pop along and celebrate with Samantha this gorgeous, summery read – https://www.facebook.com/events/1591501284420797/1604263739811218/

To contact with Samantha and find out more about her novels please check out the following links:

https://www.facebook.com/SamanthaTongeAuthor?fref=nf

http://samanthatonge.co.uk/