The Summer Island Swap by Samantha Tonge @SamTongeWriter @aria_fiction #blogtour #bookreview #romcom #SummerIslandSwap

Book cover Summer Island Swap

The Summer Island Swap written by Samantha Tonge, publisher Aria, is available NOW in ebook, kindleunlimited, audiobook and paperback format.

Book Blurb

Sometimes the best holidays are the ones you least expect…

After a long and turbulent year, Sarah is dreaming of the five-star getaway her sister has booked them on. White sands, cocktails, massages, the Caribbean is calling to them.
But the sisters turn up to tatty beaches, basic wooden shacks, a compost toilet and outdoor cold water showers. It turns out that at the last minute Amy decided a conservation project would be much more fun than a luxury resort.
So now Sarah’s battling mosquitos, trying to stomach fish soup and praying for a swift escape. Life on a desert island though isn’t all doom and gloom. They’re at one with nature, learning about each other and making new friends. And Sarah is distracted by the dishy, yet incredibly moody, island leader she’s sure is hiding a secret.
Perfect for fans of Holly Martin, Mandy Baggot and Heidi Swain.

Buy links:
Amazon: https://amzn.to/2AklZNU
Kobo: https://bit.ly/333XuPn
Google Play: https://bit.ly/2IuyI1q

I voluntarily reviewed an arc of this book. All opinions are my own and no content may be copied. However, authors and publishers may use elements of my reviews for quotes

I am so pleased to be involved in the blogtour celebrating and promoting the launch of Samantha Tonge’s latest romcom: The Summer Island Swap.

The Summer Island Swap is a gorgeous, fun loving read that will have you crossing out your holiday wishlist and adding a small island off the Caribbean coast.  You’ll not only fall in love with the beautiful sunsets and the lush flora and myriad of fauna but your heart will be stolen by a little chap who loves freeze dried strawberries!

When you’ve worked in the hotel industry for a long time and your sister surprises you with a treat of a month long holiday you can’t help but fantasise about role reversal and being the recipient of pampering at a luxury hotel.  However, Sarah was in for a surprise from sister Amy as when they got to their destination the staff at the resort were none existent, unless you counted the guests including yourself who have paid to volunteer at a conservation resort.  Sarah was not impressed at all and was all set to return on the next flight home.  She’d packed new holiday clothes including dresses, strappy sandals and bikinis which were totally unsuitable and not on the required inventory list on the resort website.  Amy was going to be in trouble with her sister!

Sarah soon found a fellow confederate with another guest who was as equally unimpressed with the destination.  However, Sarah is a very determined young lady, from a young age she’s had to prove she can cope under adversity and she’s not going to let a few creepy crawlies, basic accommodation and a bit of hard graft beat her.  She decides to give the conservation project a go but it’s not all plain sailing for Sarah.  She’s like a fish out of water and stumbles through many obstacles physically and mentally and a handsome owner of the project is one of the obstacles she has to contend with.

I really enjoyed this story by Samantha Tonge; it was filled with plenty of light hearted fun and frolics but it also held a serious side to the storyline with the sisters coping with a troubled and painful childhood.  The conservation side of the story was very interesting and inspired me.  It’s left me food for thought on what is most important in time away from home; is it luxury or is it a sense of achievement in helping good causes such as a conservation project like the one in Samantha Tonge’s book?  A story with plenty of heart and warmth with an underlining feeling of inspiration.

About the Author

Samantha Tonge lives in Manchester UK with her husband and children. She studied German and French at university and has worked abroad, including a stint at Disneyland Paris. She has travelled widely.
When not writing she passes her days cycling, baking and drinking coffee. Samantha has sold many dozens of short stories to women’s magazines.
She is represented by the Darley Anderson literary agency. In 2013, she landed a publishing deal for romantic comedy fiction with HQDigital at HarperCollins and in 2014, her bestselling debut, Doubting Abbey, was shortlisted for the Festival of Romantic Fiction best Ebook award. In 2015 her summer novel, Game of Scones, hit #5 in the UK Kindle chart and won the Love Stories Awards Best Romantic Ebook category. In 2018 Forgive Me Not, heralded a new direction into darker women’s fiction with publisher Canelo. In 2019 she was shortlisted for the Romantic Novelists’ Association romantic comedy award

Follow Samantha
Website: http://samanthatonge.co.uk/
Twitter: @SamTongeWriter
Facebook: @SamanthaTongeAuthor

Follow Aria
Website: http://www.ariafiction.com
Twitter: @aria_fiction
Facebook: @ariafiction
Instagram: @ariafiction