Summer at the Little Wedding Shop by Jane Linfoot book review

summer at the little wedding shop

Summer at the Little Wedding Shop written by Jane Linfoot, publisher Harper Impulse, is available in ebook format from 18th May 2017 and in paperback on 29th June 2017.

To pre-order/buy link:

Product Details (as per amazon page)

The third book in the bestselling series, ‘The Little Wedding Shop by the Sea’.

When the owner of Brides by the Sea, Cornwall’s cutest little wedding shop, offers Lily a job as their new wedding stylist, her first thought is – can she possibly pull it off?

Before she’s even sourced a fairy light or tasted a cupcake, Kip Penryn hires her services – but he’s opened an exclusive wedding venue in direct competition to her friend Poppy!

Lily feels like a traitor working for Kip, only everyone knows Penryn men are gorgeous but unreliable. All she has to do is sit back and watch him mess it up…doesn’t she?

Love is in the Cornish sea breeze this summer as the girls tackle their busiest wedding season yet. There’s plenty of bunting, bubbly and baking – but who is going to catch the bouquet?

sweet pea bouquet

This is the third and final book in The Little Wedding Shop by the Sea series.  Each book can be read as a standalone but to fully appreciate all the characters and the storyline setting I would recommend reading them all in order as follows:

  • The Little Wedding Shop by the Sea (you can find my review here)
  • Christmas at the Little Wedding Shop (you can find my review here)
  • Summer at the Little Wedding Shop

Jane Linfoot has created the most delightful and delicious book series.  I have simply fallen in love with the characters in each story and have drooled over the delicious sounding cakes that Poppy makes.  The stories leave you with a warm glow of happiness, hope and belief.  You want to grab the creativity, spark, charisma and love from each individual character and bottle it up to be released when you are in need of book comfort.

This story focuses on Lily, whose left with no self-confidence and her belief in marriage is non-existent following her failed marriage.  However, she’s returned to the Brides by the Sea shop in St Aiden’s Bay, Cornwall, her former workplace as a florist, to attend the wedding of one of her friends and former colleagues.

Love is in the air this Valentine’s Day with loved up couples proposing live on air on the local radio station.  Lily gets a shock when she listens to one of the happy couples; her own mother has just been proposed to!  Lily is furious and upset, her father died years ago but she is still devastated to hear her mother is moving on.

Lily loves being back with her friends at the wedding and her own woes of being single and now jobless are pushed to the back of her mind.  Lily soon catches the attention of two men; Fred a local builder and Kip one of the Penryn boys who she remembers from her childhood when the Penryn brothers spent each summer at their uncles’s mansion.  The Penryns were known as bad boys, unreliable with love them and leave them attitudes.  Kip was now living at his uncle’s mansion turning it into a wedding venue in direct opposition to her best friend Poppy’s venue of weddings at the farm with Rafe.

Lily if offered work as a stylist at the bridal emporium and she is soon in demand with weddings planned at both local venues.  With wedding wars amongst the brides to be and venue proprietors life gets a little complicated for Lily as she’s left working for both teams.  With mishaps and major bridezilla demands Lily and the girls at Brides by the Sea have just a few months to prepare and organise weddings for the summer season including their friend Immie and Lily’s mother.

This was such a gorgeously fun story.  I’d highly recommend this book series for all that love heart warming stories with lots of love and laughter.  The whole series read back to back would be a fantastic holiday treat.

To find out more about Jane Linfoot and her books please visit the following pages:

Website:  http://www.janelinfoot.co.uk/

Twitter:  http://www.twitter.com/janelinfoot

Facebook:  http://www.facebook.com/JaneLinfoot2

 

Advertisements

Christmas at the Little Wedding Shop: Sequins & Snowflakes by Jane Linfoot book review

christmas-at-the-little-wedding-shop

Christmas at the Little Wedding Shop: Sequins & Snowflakes written by Jane Linfoot, publisher HarperImpulse is available NOW in ebook format.

To buy link:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Christmas-Little-Wedding-Shop-Snowflakes-ebook/dp/B01CY4STWU/ref=tmm_kin_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=1475502163&sr=1-1

Product Details (as per amazon page)

The snow is falling around Brides by the Sea, Cornwall’s cutest little wedding shop, and wedding dress designer Seraphina East is in her cosy studio designing exquisite dresses to make even the most demanding bride’s dreams come true.

Unless the bride is her big sister Alice of course. Saying that the two sisters don’t always see eye to eye is an understatement. Alice hasn’t even asked Sera to design her wedding dress. But when an absent groom and ill-fitting dress threaten to ruin Alice’s happiness let alone her big day, Sera’s determined to give her sister the winter wedding of her dreams – even if that means keeping not one but two irresistibly gorgeous best men under control…

Is Sera going to end up being the maid of dishonour…Or will repairing her frozen relationship with Alice be the icing on the wedding cake?

There’s sequins, snowflakes, and plenty of romance in this gorgeous love story. The perfect romance to curl up by the fire with this Christmas! Perfect for fans of Carole Matthews and Milly Johnson.

snowflake-swirl-clipart

I’d like to thank the author, Jane Linfoot, her publishers and netgalley for an arc in return for a review.

This was the perfect feelgood winter warmer of a read.  I totally and utterly fell in love with this story.

Christmas at The Little Wedding Shop is the second story in The Little Wedding Shop series.  The books can be read as standalone but to appreciate and totally absorb yourself in the characters and location I advise you to read all the books in the series in chronological order.

I’m still fairly new to Jane Linfoot’s writing but after reading book 1 (The Little Wedding Shop by the Sea: Cupcakes and Confetti), you can find my review here, I have been overwhelmed by her writing style.  Her characters are so relatable and you can’t help fall in love with each one with their different quirks and charms.  She also makes the perfect book boyfriends and sometimes there are too many in a book so you are left feeling greedy with admiration!  The setting Jane has devised for her series is so wonderful, a 3 storey wedding shop on the sea front of a Cornish village.  It’s just so idyllic with it’s natural beauty and you certainly feel this from Jane’s descriptions.

This is Sera’s story.  Sera is the very shy but immensely talented wedding dress designer that was taken under the wing of the owner of Brides by the Sea, Jess.  Sera reminds me of a little Cornish pixie, she’s tiny, cute, very creative and lives in shorts and ankle books whatever the weather.  It’s the middle of December and Sera is starting to feel anxious for her sister Alice’s upcoming nuptials.  Alice is having her dream wedding at a gorgeous mansion in rural Cornwall, not far from Sera’s home and workplace on the coast.  Alice lives in London and has given Sera the task of finalising the wedding plans.  Alice is uber organised and has armed her sister Sera and whoever else is involved with the wedding with a huge wedding planner folder.  Alice’s latest instruction to Sera is to meet up with the best man and coordinate with each other the final points for this perfect wedding.

As you can imagine all does not go to plan for Sera and the best men, yes there are two of them!  Things get cancelled at last minute, errors of judgment are made and the two best men are acting like school boys vying for Sera’s attention.  A blast from the past also causes further heart ache for  Sera.

This story is such a delightful, fun, romantic story that leaves you with warm, fuzzy feelings with a hint of sparkle.  5/5*

I’m eagerly awaiting book 3 in the series and feeling very impatient!!!

Nearly forgot … Jane has so generously shared some delicious sounding recipes for winter warming cocktails and cakes to make your mouth water at the end of the novel!

To find out more about Jane Linfoot and her books please visit the following pages:

Website:  http://www.janelinfoot.co.uk/

Facebook:  http://www.facebook.com/JaneLinfoot2

Twitter:  http://www.twitter.com/janelinfoot